Birthdays Past

Standard
in garage, mom, brenda, me

Brenda & Cindy with Mom, on the car deck of the Beaver Island ferry, circa. 1955

Today is my Mom’s birthday.

When we were very small, Mom’s birthday meant a homemade card, and bouquets of dandelions. She was always very gracious.

As we got older, we added a cake to the list, baked in her kitchen, with her ingredients. We probably left a mess behind.

There were quite a few years when one of her children, as a representative for the family, would call Perkins Flower Shop and order a bouquet of roses to be delivered to her. As Mom had a charge there, they added it to her bill.

As adults, the gifts became more thoughtful. A dinner out, a night of entertainment, cards and gifts.

The ones that came from me, more often than not, were late in arriving. It wasn’t that I ever forgot; I was just lax in getting those packages and letters to the post office in time to arrive by her birthday. “It’s a good thing you had lots of kids,” I would say, “so at least some of them are thoughtful and on time!” Still, she was always very gracious.

Like so many things, Mom’s birthday has taken on greater significance since she’s been gone. It never goes by these days without consideration and gratitude for her having been a part of my life. As always, she’s on my mind and in my heart today.

 

 

3 responses »

  1. Loving tribute Cindy. I have to say, I can relate to those early childhood gifts to your mom. 😉 I remember my sister using my parents ‘records’ to melt over a bowl in the oven to make a bowl. Hahahahahaha!

  2. It’s very rare that my Mom gets anything on her birthday as it falls on the same June weekend as Father’s Day. She was always gracious enough to leave that weekend open for Dad and his event. Of course we celebrate Mom’s birthday, but many times it’s put off until October or so. Such are the sacrifices of a good mother. Or one that wants all the attention for herself even if it isn’t on the day!

Leave a Reply

