Yarn

Standard

A year ago, Mary Rose, the woman who owns the Toy Museum here on Beaver Island, donated loads of yarn to the Resale Shop. There were whole skeins, partial skeins and balls of yarn. Beautiful yarns! Wools and cottons, variegated, chenille, and ribbon yarns. Many were heavy weight; others were single-ply. All were just stunning! The quality, the colors and the sheer quantity was seductive! It was yarn that I wouldn’t be able to afford at retail price. The resale shop sold it for one dollar per skein.

I’d pick up a few selections every week. And every week, I said, “That’s it, now…I don’t need any more yarn.” The following Friday, when I went in to work my shift I’d again be drawn in to all the soft textures, bright colors, and variety. Irresistible! I bought over a hundred samples.

There wasn’t enough of any one color or weight to complete any more than small projects, but that was fine with me. I like to take two or three strands of yarn and work them together. I like the tweedy look, and the changes in color keep me interested. I find that the completed projects are kind of self-blocking, an added advantage.

So, I started in. I made a few pair of slippers, as Christmas gifts. Then I made almost a hundred winter hats.

I followed that by one cozy afghan for my daughter, Kate. My grandson, Tommy, told me how much he loved it, so I started one for him. Then I started one for my daughter, Jen. Then, for a hundred other things, drawing me in different directions, I lost interest in crochet. Those two afghans each sit, in their unfinished state, each in their own tote, along with the yarn, crochet hook and pattern book. Like dozens of other half-finished undertakings I’ve started and abandoned in my life, they occupy my mind even when they aren’t taking my time or energy. Not to mention the basketsful of yarn I’ve acquired, just waiting to be put to use!

Last weekend, I loaded one of those totes in the car, and went to join the sewing group. I couldn’t stay long, because I had another appointment in town. Between getting set up, then coffee and conversation, I didn’t get much done. In fact, I crocheted only one row. That’s about a half-inch of progress! At that rate, it will take forever to get this done! Knowing myself, though, I understand that the biggest step is the first one, and that just getting re-started is sometimes enough.

2 responses »

  1. Hi, we’ve all got unfinished projects, don’t beat yourself up about it. It’s always nice to get your hands on some lovely yarn:-)

    visiting from the A to z

Leave a comment