Getting There

Standard

Image

I have one million things yet to do before I’m finished with this project…but I’m happy with my new shelves.

My stereo is in the living space along with a collection of old albums (the Beatles! Vanilla Fudge! Hendrix! The Soft Machine!) quite a few cassette tapes (Harry Chapin, the Eagles, Paul Simon) and a couple dozen compact discs (jazz, blues and folk, mostly). As the technology changed, so did my taste in music.

The little television set – that doesn’t actually “receive” television – is in the living room, too. It has a built-in DVD player, so is good for watching a movie with company, if I choose. I am also taking a couple courses on DVD: The Art of Teaching and Analysis and Critique. Finally, I have a couple exercise videos that I use, and the living room is the only room large and open enough to actually do the exercises in.

My favorite books are here. Not the ones that have the best bindings, or that I’m proudest to have read because they show me to be a thoughtful and intelligent person. No. These are the ones that I pick up to read again and again, that I can flip open to precious passages or reflect on when it is meaningful. Emily Dickinson is here, along with E.B. White and Maxine Hong Kingston…but so are David Sedaris, Christopher Moore…and Jim Fitzgerald, who got his start writing for the Lapeer County Press, my home town newspaper.

A few plants are tucked in, to soften the lines.

I’m pleased with this space.

25 responses »

    • Thanks, Tammy, I like them here, too. I get western sun in from the window, and I tracked it through the day to make sure the plants would be in that path. Thanks for reading, and for your comeents1

  1. hey from the middle of the world.. i was standing on the line today and balanced the egg and all of those options, but i would have been equally happy sitting there i your home and perusing those lovely books and enjoying a visit w/you!

  2. I’m so envious! Can you believe I don’t even have a bookshelf? Nowhere in the house. Husby is going to make a bookcase for me soon, but I don’t know if it will be big enough to hold everything I have. I might have to have him make two…or five!

    Congratulations on your marvelous decorating!

    • Oh, how nice to have a bookcase-builder under your roof! That’s the trouble…things seem to multiply to over-fill the space! I am working at letting go of things, during this big re-arrangement process. I love the not over-full look…but always seem to end up right back there. Thanks for reading, Sara, and for your comments!

  3. David Sedaris! The Lapeer County Press! My, it suddenly feels like a very small world indeed. Glad to hear you’re making good progress. (Did I tell you my daughter met David Sedaris in person? I have SUCH a story to tell about it, but she won’t let me…oh woe, oh woe…)

    • Now, see, I try to uphold a strict rule with my offspring that I own all the anecdotes. Still, my daughters guilt-trips me into not telling the Santa Claus story (very often, at least), so I do understand. I’d love to hear about her meeting David Sedaris…if she ever gives in on that point!

    • Thank you so much! I still have quite a lot to do, just to clean up the mess I made with all my rearranging, but the living room feels organized and cozy now. Thanks for the encouragement!

    • He is brilliant! What stories! But then on other days I’m in the mood for the quieter humor of E.B. White…I like having them close at hand. Thanks for reading, Claire, and for your comments!

  4. Plants and books. How can you go wrong? It takes me a half an hour to water all my plants but I wouldn’t trade one of them. Old familiar books are the best. I have many I lean on when I settle into my chair with a cup of freshly brewed coffee. Looks great!

    • Thank you! It feels cozy and “right” to me, too. I got rid of many of my larger houseplants when my little dog was diagnosed with allergies to so many plants. I treasure the ones I have left. Thank you for reading, and for your comments!

Leave a Reply

