Timeout for Art: More Collage

Standard

IMG_0706

Last night, after a long day at work, after taking the dogs down to Fox Lake for a romp, after putting my dinner in the oven, I managed some time in the studio, continuing work on a series of small collages. Though these photograph as rectangles (allowing me to choose the juiciest surfaces to show), they are actually small squares. With a three inch matt all around, they frame up at 14 x 14 inches.

For many years, I put together the beginnings of one small collage every single day. I’d incorporate bits and scraps of interesting papers – a piece of corrugated cardboard, the corner of an envelope, the frilly edge of paper torn from a spiral notebook – that had found their way into my pockets, along with selections from my large collection of “collage material.” I thought of them like diary pieces: my mood and the weather reflected in the juxtaposition of colors, shapes and textures. It was the way I started each studio session, a way to throw off the rest of the day, and bring my focus to creative projects.

Though each collage has an image and personality of its own, there is language evident in their varied surfaces. I like zig-zags, juxtaposing organic with geometric shapes, and “lines” of cut papers marching side-by-side. I use lots of angles, though rarely precise, and I like shapes to barely meet, at their corners. It is important to have the objects interact with each other, and with the edges of the page. Colors vary slightly from day-to-day, and greatly from one season to the next.

I haven’t taken time for this daily practice in quite some time, but I find the visual imagery is still with me, as is the love of combining disparate shapes and colors to set a mood. That gives me encouragement, for when my time opens up!

 

About cindyricksgers

I am an artist. I live on an island in northern Lake Michigan, USA. I have two grown daughters, four strong, smart and handsome grandsons and one beautiful, intelligent and charming granddaughter. I live with two spoiled dogs. I love walking in the woods around my home, reading, writing and playing in my studio.

4 responses »

  1. Lynn over at https://bluebrightly.com gave me suggestions about working with some of the people still struggling after the earthquake —with different forms of art therapy…. your daily collage is such a great way to start anyone’s work day.. i usually do some kind of warmup, either a sketch or blocking something in with large washes of light color.. anything, as you will agree, to hone my attention to the work and allow everything else to fade into never never land…..

    collage! oh, that is such a great option!

    this morning i am still wrestling with that ‘Muir Tree’ which has developed its own powerful strong will! i hoped to share it on today’s post, but will share another botanical painted in a very different style – scientific – … for some reason the Muir Tree is not ready to be introduced to the public!

  2. Happy you got some studio time. I enjoyed reading about the process and how these collages are and extension of you and your world. Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

