Timeout for Art: One Day Late

Standard

IMG_0697

Yesterday, we had no long-distance telephone or internet service on Beaver Island. It lasted, until after eight o’clock last night.

It gave me a feeling of disconnection: I am accustomed to being able to check frequently on the antics going on in Washington D.C. and around the country. I finally thought to turn on the radio, just to make sure the world was still out there, beyond our Lake Michigan shoreline.

It also freed up an amazing amount of time. I left work after freight was put away, to take advantage of the sunshine. After my aching back caused me to retreat from the garden, I spent a few hours in the studio.  These little collages are coming along nicely, I think.

About cindyricksgers

I am an artist. I live on an island in northern Lake Michigan, USA. I have two grown daughters, four strong, smart and handsome grandsons and one beautiful, intelligent and charming granddaughter. I live with two spoiled dogs. I love walking in the woods around my home, reading, writing and playing in my studio.

2 responses »

  1. being ‘disconnected’ is very liberating! i ‘disconnected’ from phones and televisions about 20 years ago… the phone part frustrates my friends, but i found that a large percent of incoming calls were of little importance, and they often interrupted a very ‘focused’ moment – either with art or gardening or reading or visiting with a dear one or — and the person would ask, ‘what are you doing?’ with mud or paint or cooking materials on my hands, i would explain, and half an hour later still trying to hang up the conversation…

    emails work well for me – and one learns to plan ahead for coordinating a meeting place/lunch, outing…. and my ‘offline’ time is so precious and uninterrupted….

    an day ‘off’ like you experienced also reminds us of what would happen if a large solar flare or flares did in fact disrupt the world’s grid… i ithink of that at times when the internet is down – last weekend for two days.. and people go about their routines not worried.. but what if by day four, you’re still down – no online banking, no news from the outside world.. and what if a week later still in a blackout… oh, my imagination can take an idea and run full throttle!!

    • It makes me think I need to be stricter with myself…it is too easy to put the computer on, just to see what Trump has done next, and then I’m distracted by one thing and another until a half a day is wasted. My biggest complaint is always, “not enough time…” yet there it is! Thanks, Lisa!

Leave a Reply

