Timeout for Art: the Long Way

Standard

IMG_0415

Sometimes things come together effortlessly.

Sometimes they don’t.

After a struggle to find time for the studio, and long lapses between sessions, I was pleased to finally have a piece underway. Last week, I had everything glued in place, and had it sandwiched between layers of plastic and two sturdy boards, tucked in between my mattress and box spring to dry flat.

Last night, I pulled it out and unwrapped it. I was prepared for the grand “reveal:” that heart-thumping Christmas morning moment when I see what I’ve created through fresh eyes. Often, I think, “Wow. Where did that come from?” It’s often a pleasant surprise.

Not always, though.

Last night was…well…underwhelming. The surface was not quite flat, and had even rippled in places. The medium was still tacky, and there were patches that were still opaque. The bright blue that seemed so necessary – and so divine – when I placed it, now looked a bit contrived and considerably over the top. Too bright, too centered, too demanding of all the attention so that subtle nuances of color and surface fell away in its wake.  I could write another entire chapter about the complications I then ran into when trying to photograph it!

But, it’s evening now, and I don’t have the energy to go into a long diatribe about what went wrong. All is not lost. I finally managed a reasonable photo. I will make adjustments to the composition. it will be fine. That’s just how it goes.

Sometimes it’s easy; sometimes it’s not.

About cindyricksgers

I am an artist. I live on an island in northern Lake Michigan, USA. I have two grown daughters, four strong, smart and handsome grandsons and one beautiful, intelligent and charming granddaughter. I live with two spoiled dogs. I love walking in the woods around my home, reading, writing and playing in my studio.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

