Timeout for Art: A Little Time

Standard

IMG_0311

Well, I don’t have a photograph to prove it, but I did happily manage a few hours in the studio this week. Six, to be exact, over the course of two days. I did some shuffling and rearranging, to make space to work among all the disparate items stored in that small room. I did some tidying, just to make it more pleasant. Finally, I worked on some art.

Not the finding-flow/following-the-muse/wild-inspiration type of art-making. No, this was a necessary – but not as glorious – aspect of the process.

I dismantled one large collage that I’d assembled a couple weeks ago, spread the elements out so that I could recall their positioning, and – one-by-one – glued them into place. I tweaked the  design a bit before calling it done. Then, I  coated  both sides of the heavy paper collage with gel medium, wrapped it in thin plastic, layered it between two sturdy plywood boards, and tucked in between my mattress and box spring to dry.

Art is one of those activities that sometimes brings great excitement, at other times just soothes. Sometimes decisions have to be made every moment; other times it is just going through the necessary motions.

I like all  aspects of the process.

 

About cindyricksgers

I am an artist. I live on an island in northern Lake Michigan, USA. I have two grown daughters, four strong, smart and handsome grandsons and one beautiful, intelligent and charming granddaughter. I live with two spoiled dogs. I love walking in the woods around my home, reading, writing and playing in my studio.

6 responses »

  1. i’m glad that you’re making progress! putting the work between the mattresses is smart… i have pondered hanging frames against the ceiling — i think we both need some serious studio space!!!!

    company is arriving tomorrow, so i’m trying to get the little apt ready… yesterday i managed to saw two boards to the right size, which all but exhausted my energy reserves… then i nailed them in place for a luggage rack and put a coat of white so it didn’t look so ugly…

    trying to bounce back from a virus is taking more time than expected…

    one of these days we’ll both be in forward throttle mode!!!!

  2. Yay you! I’m glad you got to spend some time in the studio. Though I don’t consider myself an “artist,” my craft work requires many processes, and it’s always so nice to get through each step. It’s the little steps that create the great works.

    • Yes, sometimes the quiet, non-thinking aspects are what I need; other times the excitement. Now, when I don’t get much time in the studio, I don’t always have a choice…but nice to get up there anyway.

Leave a Reply

