Morning Snowfall

Standard

dec 19 and 21 115

I woke this morning to a telephone call, and was greeted, when I looked outside, to a gentle snowfall. The dogs came in from their early wanderings with sparkling wet fur. It has changed, over the last hour, to something more serious. The snowflakes are larger, and holding tight to everything. My view is transformed! It is beautiful!

This would be a good day for a pot of soup simmering on the stove, a loaf of bread rising. It would be a good day for sitting with a good book, as the snow sifts down outside. It would be a good day for lighting scented candles and listening to soft jazz. It would be a good day for special activities and projects, and I have a long list.

Sunday is one of my days for writing this blog. After apologizing and explaining about no “Timeout for Art” on Thursday, I was planning a long essay. Then, I was going to dress for the weather, and get myself and my big dog out of the house for a long walk. I am partway through a purging, cleaning  and  rearranging project that (according to my sister, Brenda, who read an interpretation based on the alignment of the stars) should be finished within the next two weeks, or the chaos in my life will still be around in August. I can’t have that! I also planned to be here if my daughter should call, as we are in the final stages of putting our next issue of the Beacon together.

Well, none of that is going to happen this morning. The phone call that woke me up was a request that I go in to work today; the person who was scheduled put her back out. Of course, I can do that. So, it’s up and away, this morning, with four inches of heavy snow to scrape from my car before my trek to town on roads not yet plowed, to work at the hardware store.

Sigh.

About cindyricksgers

I am an artist. I live on an island in northern Lake Michigan, USA. I have two grown daughters, four strong, smart and handsome grandsons and one beautiful, intelligent and charming granddaughter. I live with two spoiled dogs. I love walking in the woods around my home, reading, writing and playing in my studio.

11 responses »

  1. Cindy, I do love looking at the snow. Occasionally in our neck of the woods (pardon the pun) we do get a liberal dusting, but not often. However, digging out of it I can leave for the younger version of myself. How beautiful, however.

  2. goodnss, that snow looks deep! it’s beautiful, but for me, it’s pretty for about half an hour – then i’d like warmer temps! the equator definitely serves me wel for short doses of cold and then all but perfect temperatures!

    as for art, we take the example of the moon which needs a rest period after it presides over the full-moon evenings… there are trees that need a dormant period in order to burst into bloom! the most-difficult challenge is to allow that dormant period to find its rhythm and then allow the fruiting cycle!

    stay warm and safe! brrrrrrrrrrr!

    from the earthquake side of the country… it’s muddy and rainy but not cold!

    • Yes, Lisa, it seems we are each in our right place in the world…I’d much rather have the cold and snow than any threat of earthquake! Though I’ve never lived anywhere except in Michigan (at least in this lifetime) I have had frequent nightmares about earthquakes, since early childhood.

  3. Happy to be connected to you, Cindy. You may know how much I love your island. What a beautiful shot of your morning snow! Downstate the storm translated into much rain during the night, but our forecast for tomorrow is “a full day of sunshine”–I’ll take it! Hope your drive to work was a safe one and your return yields some of those forsaken Sunday pleasures.

  4. It would also have been a good day for xc skiing or snow shoeing. I so miss the snow down state this year. Winter is so depressing for me without it. It looks like I may have to go north again to find winter.

  5. Cindy the hardware lady to the rescue! You’re such a good person to have given up a cozy winter day to come to the aid of an employer. I hope you made it through the snow okay, and that you can enjoy some coziness after work.

Leave a Reply

