Timeout for Art: No Art?

Standard

timeout-for-art6

I’ve been busy with work and other obligations. I admit, too, I’ve been spending far too much time watching and listening to wild claims of voter fraud and inauguration attendance, mixed with some genuinely scary and disheartening policy changes and directives. I have no art to show. I almost forgot it was Thursday. Then I opened my browser to WordPress. There was my dear and loyal friend Lisa, from her little earthquake-ravaged town in Ecuador, in her tiny, make-shift studio, watching world events and worrying, as we all should, about what a world without art would be like. She looked for an inspirational site that she follows:

” This week featured a black rectangle to illustrate a more-serious post.     Please take time to read Charley Parker’s  Lines & Colors Is On Strike Today –”

As she suggested, I followed the link, where I read the reasons that the site was “on strike.”

Yes, it’s a small, mostly symbolic gesture, but so are the recently announced plans by the incoming administration to eliminate funding for the National Endowment for the Arts and the National Endowment for the Humanities, as well as the Corporation for Public Broadcasting.

Never one to dwell on worst-case scenarios, Lisa instead posted many glorious photographs of art bringing people together in her part of the world. I encourage you to have a look. https://playamart.wordpress.com/

Taking my cue from her, I am sharing photos of art bringing people together (and making a positive difference!) in this little part of the world. How does art make a difference where you live?

timeout-for-art3

timeout-for-art10timeout-for-art9timeout-for-art2timeout-for-art8timeout-for-art7timeout-for-art5timeout-for-art4timeout-for-art

 

About cindyricksgers

I am an artist. I live on an island in northern Lake Michigan, USA. I have two grown daughters, four strong, smart and handsome grandsons and one beautiful, intelligent and charming granddaughter. I live with two spoiled dogs. I love walking in the woods around my home, reading, writing and playing in my studio.

3 responses »

  1. Cindy, this is a great post, and reflects our concerns about keeping the arts world healthy and vibrant. Yes, we will always create art – it’s like asking a bird not to sing or a flower not to bloom, but they sing sweetest when coddled and given the best environments to thrive!

    The photos are wonderful and made me smile…

Leave a Reply

