Timeout for Art: Studio Time

Standard

img_0049

Yesterday, I came home from work filled with determination. I would not look at the dust or clutter that begs for my time. I would not respond to the stacks of papers on my desk that demand my attention. I would not even turn on the computer, for fear that I’d be drawn in to the latest firestorm of tweets and the legions indignant responses.

First, I took the dogs out for a good wander. No matter what my plans, they need fresh air and exercise. Next, I started supper. This new diet takes more time and thought than I am accustomed to. Bachelor living has made me content with meals that dirty no more than one pan, and can be served in one dish. Hot, buttered noodles, cold cereal with milk or fried potatoes and onions are my old stand-bys. Now, they are all off limits. Last night I mixed ground beef with chopped celery, onion and a grated carrot, and mounded it into two halved bell peppers, covered it with stewed tomatoes, and popped it in the oven. It would be dinner, plus lunches for the next three days. I fed the dogs. While they were eating, I changed out of my work clothes and into the baggy sweats that are stiff with old paint.

Then, up the stairs to the studio! I transferred one large and four small framed painting to the closet in my bedroom, so I would have room to move. I pulled out painted papers. I sifted through bins and bowls full of scraps. I started shuffling things around. I felt myself grinning. The time flew by.

After dinner, I went back upstairs, to make a few adjustments and take a couple pictures. Nothing is attached, at this point. This is not finished work. What it is – and it’s important – are results of the first day in months that I have taken time to work in the studio. That, alone, is a gift!

About cindyricksgers

I am an artist. I live on an island in northern Lake Michigan, USA. I have two grown daughters, four strong, smart and handsome grandsons and one beautiful, intelligent and charming granddaughter. I live with two spoiled dogs. I love walking in the woods around my home, reading, writing and playing in my studio.

9 responses »

Leave a Reply

