Timeout for Art: Not Yet

Standard

collagraph2

Though I had (HAVE!!!) the best of intentions about getting into the studio this year, it hasn’t happened yet. Though I decided not to go to a township meeting last night – that I really should have attended – in order to make one last-ditch effort to get something new going so that I could present it (“even just the bare, embryonic beginnings,” I told myself “…no matter how rough or amateurish…something NEW!”) today…still nothing. By the time I got home from work, walked the dogs in the freezing cold, made soup to pack for my lunch, fed the dogs and made my own dinner, I was losing hope. I still had dishes to do. I was tired. I wanted a bath. So….nothing new. Not yet.

About cindyricksgers

I am an artist. I live on an island in northern Lake Michigan, USA. I have two grown daughters, four strong, smart and handsome grandsons and one beautiful, intelligent and charming granddaughter. I live with two spoiled dogs. I love walking in the woods around my home, reading, writing and playing in my studio.

5 responses »

    • Yes, it’s hard. Mainly because the studio is impossible to work in until I find time for one thousand other non-art related tasks: finding other spots in this small house for all the things I have stored there, time to sort and dispose of what is not necessary, etc., etc. I feel fortunate that ideas and inspiration are with me, but until there is actually room to move in the studio, impossible to work on. Thanks for reading, Suzanne, and for your comments!

      • That’s a problem. I’m having a creative lull too and have stopped blogging for the time being. Instead I’m working on my visual journals. I started a painting but realized it was no good – luckily before I got too invested in it. I guess we all have different approaches. For me it starts with finding a sense of purpose for the work first.

  1. Ha… what is ironic abut this, is that each week I HAVE things to share, but the images remain in my camera and the energy to create the posts is absent! I painted (while torrential rain fell) for hours and hours until about 2 this morning… it’s 7 now, so I am depleted, but workers should be here any minute.

    If we could merge personalities, and combine the strongest of both of our habits, we’d knock those deadlines out of the ballpark daily! We’d probably also be sick, because one can only do so much with each day!

    Love, Lisa

    • Yes, exactly! I have been where you are at (though it seems a long time ago now) with ideas popping, working all night, but then too exhausted for the business at hand. I know that can be almost as frustrating as not being able to work. The balance, you’re right, is what we both need! Thanks, Lisa!

Leave a Reply

