A Better Path

Standard

img_4399

Sometimes I get  so caught up in everything that is wrong that I can’t see my way out. I don’t feel good. I’m tired. I’m frazzled.  I have a million things to do, and I’m behind on every single one. It’s Christmas season and I haven’t put out a single decoration. I’m lonesome. I miss my family. I miss my friends. I’m broke. It seems like I work all the time, yet I can’t seem to get ahead. I can’t get on top of my bills. I can’t even stay on top of my housekeeping. It is a never ending labyrinth of frustration and anxiety, spiraling downward toward darkness and despair. I can’t see my way out.

Then, something gives.

Yesterday, it was a call from my daughter. A cheery voice at the other end of the line, saying “Hello! How are you?” Sounding really happy to hear my voice. Sincerely wanting to know how I’m doing. Then she listened, calm and sympathetic, as I railed about my bad week and my bad mood and my miserable day. She said all the right things. Then, she told me about her own lousy experience. I was justifiably outraged for her. We commiserated back and forth. We made each other laugh. Before our long conversation was over, the spiral had turned, and it was leading me toward the light.

One accepting, understanding voice, reaching out, with love. That’s it.

That’s everything, really.

About cindyricksgers

I am an artist. I live on an island in northern Lake Michigan, USA. I have two grown daughters, four strong, smart and handsome grandsons and one beautiful, intelligent and charming granddaughter. I live with two spoiled dogs. I love walking in the woods around my home, reading, writing and playing in my studio.

8 responses »

  1. Hmmm.. it’s as if verbal expression trumped the written one as a way to reach the center of the labrynth and then head back out! Your story made me think of a ‘whirlpool’ story — perhaps I should write a post about it…Thanks for the ‘trigger’ for that yet-to-be-written post!

    May this final week of the Christmas holiday go well!

  2. There are numerous reasons I want to move to The Island. One big reason is to be around peeps like Cindy.

    Cindy– thank you. Really!

    I need your blog.

Leave a Reply

