Timeout for Art: Red is the Color of a Brazilian Goddess

Standard
img_9858

“Red is the Color of a Brazilian Goddess”

That’s a long title for a small (approximately 12″ x 16″) painting, but that’s the mood it sets, for me. Red exudes power…and status…but also heat, energy and simple exuberant fun. I played with several of these small studies, having in mind a larger (maybe 4′ x 6′) wall-sized, predominantly red painting. I put a lot of large scale ideas, including this one, on hold for lack of space. Nothing has changed there. My studio is still a ten by twelve foot room at the top of the stairs, jam packed with books, materials, artwork leaning against every wall, a drafting table and an extremely bulky printing press. Still, this painting called strongly to me today. Maybe it’s time!

About cindyricksgers

I am an artist. I live on an island in northern Lake Michigan, USA. I have two grown daughters, four strong, smart and handsome grandsons and one beautiful, intelligent and charming granddaughter. I live with two spoiled dogs. I love walking in the woods around my home, reading, writing and playing in my studio.

2 responses »

  1. I too have a predominately-red painting, and it all but overpwered the back seat when it recently rode from the cost to the cloudforest with friends and me! yes, red is powerful, and it might have spoken to you because you’re emerging from your ”grippe’/cold/flu and are getting stronger!

Leave a Reply

