Timeout for Art: Rethinking Old Themes

Standard

img_9807

I’ve been spending a lot of time studying this old painting lately. It was returned to me several months ago, after hanging in a gallery for about the last six years. It is acrylic paint with textured collage elements on a 4′ x4′ board. It has a nice metal frame. It is titled “Charm Against Witches” and some of the words are from a list of materials intended to do just that:

“Black Luggie, Lammer Bead, Rowan Tree, Red Thread”

I don’t hate the painting. Some areas of the surface are just precious with subtle color and texture. The trouble is, I don’t love it, either. When taken as a whole, it’s a little bland, a bit too mauve, and kind of rough. It’s a large piece to have hanging around, when I have limited space and am not crazy for it. At this point, I’m also not enthused about putting it back out on the market. It’s never a good idea to try to sell work that I have any misgivings about. It’s hard enough to show work (my heart! my soul!) that I have every confidence in. So, I’m studying it, with the idea that I may be able to improve it, and make it into something I could be more enthused about. We’ll see.

About cindyricksgers

I am an artist. I live on an island in northern Lake Michigan, USA. I have two grown daughters, four strong, smart and handsome grandsons and one beautiful, intelligent and charming granddaughter. I live with two spoiled dogs. I love walking in the woods around my home, reading, writing and playing in my studio.

6 responses »

  1. Either you had this scheduled or you are up very late or else awake very early! Being distracted by the night blooming cereus flowers, I am getting to sleep very late… I have a timeout for art (finally) but the flowers trumped the art.. they won’t wait, and wow, they were worth it! i am itching to paint them!

    It’s nice to return to old paintings;;; we’re not so ‘married’ to the original concept, so it’s sometimes fun to take an old idea and send it in new directions i have about four that will soon have some new energy…

    with the new moon, it looks like we’re both moving forward!

    g’night!
    zzzzzzzzzzz

  2. I have this kind of relationship with paintings that don’t sell when exhibited. Its an odd one. I sometimes try and farm them out to family while I figure it out.

  3. You’ve heard it before, “I don’t know much about art but I know what I like.” Right? I’m kind of one of those people. I can sympathize with the work that goes into a piece, but sometimes I just don’t understand it. Is it supposed to look like something? Represent something?

    I have to say that even before reading this post the image of your piece struck a chord in me. Maybe it was the colors. Maybe it was the “letters,” which I wouldn’t have even known what they spelled out if you hadn’t told.

    Thank you for spelling out this piece of art, and letting me know its history. I’m sorry you don’t “love” this. I’d be curious to know how much the gallery was asking for it. Seems strange that after several years it didn’t sell. I think it’s marvelous.

Leave a Reply

