No, Thank You

Standard

img_9277

No, thank you, I do not want to wake up. Though I love my new alarm clock with it’s big round face, large dial, easily readable numbers and a huge, simple-to-find-in-a-state-of-half-asleep snooze button, I don’t care to hear it this morning. I’d rather not get out from under the covers, and stretch my feet to the cold floor. No, thank you, I think I’d prefer to stay in bed.

No, thank you, I really don’t care, this morning, to see the sunrise. I don’t really want to see the sun at all. I can feel its warmth, through the east-facing window of my bedroom as it rises over the tops of the trees.That’s enough for me. If it makes a difference what I think, I’d just as soon stay right here.

No, thank you, I think I’ll pass on morning coffee. First of all, that would involve getting out of bed. Secondly, I’m afraid it might jar me from this decadent, lazy, luxurious morning among the pillows and comforters.

No, thank you, I’m terribly afraid that a shower and a change of clothes would ruin this mood. I’ll stay in my pajamas, if you don’t mind.

No, thank you, I think I won’t be taking telephone calls today. I will also not check the weather, the news or my Email. No, thank you to Facebook, and Twitter, and Instant Messenger. Don’t worry, I’ll be fine.

No, thank you, I prefer not to go to work today. Though I often enjoy the job itself, and always appreciate the paycheck, though I like the perks – like food on the table and a roof over my head – that a steady job affords me, I think I’ll pass today.

Oh, no thank you, I choose definitely not to spend the time off work in other “worthwhile endeavors.” No, though I understand this opening creates time to make a dent in a long, long list of obligations, I will not be working on them today, thank you very much.

No, thank you, not even the crossword puzzle, not even the book. My intent, if you please, is to lay right here, snug under the covers. I may roll over, once or twice, but not more than from one side to the other. As for everything else, no. Thank you.

 

About cindyricksgers

I am an artist. I live on an island in northern Lake Michigan, USA. I have two grown daughters, four strong, smart and handsome grandsons and one beautiful, intelligent and charming granddaughter. I live with two spoiled dogs. I love walking in the woods around my home, reading, writing and playing in my studio.

9 responses »

    • Thank you so much! Yes, that was the spirit of the writing yesterday (though there are plenty of reasons at present why I’d prefer to stay buried under the covers) and I’m glad it came through!

  1. Ah, Cindy! A very deep longing to stay in the world of dreams held me in a similar state this morning. I was aware of a background of intrusive noise – lots of it, as machines worked in many locations, as they have since the April earthquake. Motorcycles without mufflers roared to worksites, and I also realized, “Breakfast.. I promised to help with breakfast…” here at my friend’s hostal in Jama…

    The misery is gone here, but I realized how lucky I was to have lived in the cloud forest without exposure to the noise, the dust, the visual impacts of disaster everywhere – and also without the modern gadgets that connect us to world news and the doom and gloom… There is good reason for people to want to stay in bed these days.. all of that will weigh on us physically and emotionally!

    I hear people stirring around in the outdoor kitchen… just realizing that makes me realize how lucky I am – I am not living in a tent, and I have lots of opportunities, unlike those who have so little.

    Have a good day and a good week amiga! Guess we all had better roll out of the bed and embrace what the day has planned for us – we might be surprised with great adventures!

Leave a Reply

