The 52 Lists Project #45

Standard

img_9109

List the things that make up your ideal holiday season:

  • Family. I’ve just recently come to the conclusion that I cannot go down to be with my sisters and brother, my daughters and their children this Thanksgiving, so I’m feeling a little sad. Other than a chance to see family, though, Thanksgiving is not much of a holiday for me. Neither is Easter…or even Halloween. In fact, other than Christmas, I’m not much of a holiday person.
  • Christmas, ideally, would be in my home, clean and decorated, with my family around me. unfortunately, that hasn’t been the case in many years. If I’m around family, I’ve traveled there; if I’m home, I’m alone. Well, there is Aunt Katie close by, of course, and cousin Bob; there are the dogs, always. It’s not so bad. I’ve gotten used to it, but it’s not “ideal.”
  • If my family were here, a tree would be a necessity. I’d pull out the lights and all the old ornaments, the funny angel for the treetop, and looped paper garland.
  • The old crocheted stockings that I made when my family was young.
  • Church bells. I walked home with my daughters one Christmas Eve night, along the harbor on Beaver Island as the church bells rang out for midnight Mass. It was perfect!
  • Chicken soup with homemade noodles cut out in the shape of stars. This was traditionally our supper on the evening we decorated the Christmas tree.
  • Music. I like the old albums: Burl Ives, Julie Andrews and Bing Crosby, but i also listen to the albums of lively songs I’d play for my little daughters at Christmas time.
  • Snow. Not necessary for all holidays…or even for any other holiday, but I do like snow for Christmas.
Leave a Reply

