Timeout for Art: Monolith

Standard

monolith-001

After years of toying with slab bowls and the potter’s wheel, of borrowing from or flat out stealing every single good idea I saw in the work of the students and teachers around me, or in twenty years of back issues of Ceramic Monthly magazine…I finally fell into a pattern, and a style that felt like my own.

I worked with squeezed and rolled ropes of very soft, wet clay. I could plan the shape and form it, but only to a point. The weight and moisture content seemed to give the clay a mind of its own. I liked that. I enjoy letting the materials I’m working with dictate the direction.  So, the sags and oozes gave the work a distinctive look. I embellished the surface with various openings and texture. Also, the uncontrolled changes that took place in the kiln added character. I mended cracks with irregular balls of silver solder, and added washes of paint to enhance areas of the surface where the glazing or reduction-color was less than I wanted.

This piece – at about 60 inches high and 42 inches at its widest point – is the largest of these sculptures that I made.

About cindyricksgers

I am an artist. I live on an island in northern Lake Michigan, USA. I have two grown daughters, four strong, smart and handsome grandsons and one beautiful, intelligent and charming granddaughter. I live with two spoiled dogs. I love walking in the woods around my home, reading, writing and playing in my studio.

6 responses »

  1. I was still awake last night when your post rolled in.. I thought, “Thursday? Is this Thursday?” The week slipped by b/c I’ve had a stomach virus, not fun, and slept thru several days (a blessing!)

    By George, with the help of my friend’s photos, I’ll be able to do a Timeout post later today!

    I wish I were there to watch how you make these! Thanks as always for holding the Timeout torch even when my own went dark!

    • It was easily a hundred pounds, Lisa. We rolled it over the scale before I was completely dry, and – with the wheeled cart – was almost two hundred fifty. This one was purchased by Claudia Schmidt, the folk singer. It stood outside of her restaurant for several years. I don’t know where it is now.

Leave a Reply

