Timeout for Art: Collage

Standard

collage20collage21collage22Difficult Questionscollage19collage6collage9collage5

I like emptying my pockets at the end of the day. I will find there bits of paper, scraps of packaging and tag-ends of envelopes: things that caught my interest, in the moment, for color, shape or texture. I am like a crow, attracted to sparkle and brights.

I like going through the trays and shallow bowls that hold these scraps. I enjoy moving them around on a painted surface until the shapes and colors start communicating with each other. I keep the conversation going: I add other shapes and elements, maybe a bit of rubbed color or a stamped or stenciled image, perhaps a wash of translucent watercolor.

Eventually, everything transcends its humble beginnings, becoming better than any of the elements that went into it.

That’s what i like about collage.

About cindyricksgers

I am an artist. I live on an island in northern Lake Michigan, USA. I have two grown daughters, four strong, smart and handsome grandsons and one beautiful, intelligent and charming granddaughter. I live with two spoiled dogs. I love walking in the woods around my home, reading, writing and playing in my studio.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

