Looking Up

Standard

img_5397

Fall is a wonderful season.

October is a beautiful month.

Every day offers an amazement of color, from the ground underfoot, to the sky overhead, and all of the growing things in between.

My grapes are ripe. A little smaller than last year, I think they are sweeter than they’ve ever been. I have a pitcher of perfect juice in the refrigerator, and a basket of the fruit always nearby for nibbling.

The bumble bees still come to find the rosy flat flower heads of sedum when the sun is shining.

The sun still warms the days, this October, but nights are cool, and mornings are crisp. After a summer of hot nights, I’m happy to be sleeping under blankets again. It’s nice to pull out the sweaters against the autumn breeze.

Walking through fallen leaves makes me feel like a child again, that satisfying crackle underfoot, the urge to kick up a flurry of dry leaves. There are paths that will be knee deep in leaves before the season is done. At this time it’s just a jewel-toned carpet.

Driving through the canopy of trees on the Fox Lake Road is an ever-changing treat at any time of day. Sunshine filters through the brightness in the trees, and the light itself is tinged with their color. Paid Een Ogg’s Road offers a wider view of the mixed forest on either side. The King’s Highway, long and straight, is a corridor of reds and golds with just the right amount of evergreen to serve as backdrop. Any view that includes water shows deep blue garnished with reflections of glorious trees.

The sky, on this island, in the fall of the year, is the most beautiful sky of the entire year. Blues are deeper; clouds are larger, fluffier, and more panoramic. Every day it tells a different story. I don’t know the reason why. I’m sure there’s a meteorological reason based on water temperature and air pressure. I don’t care. I’m just thrilled to, every day, be able to enjoy it.

I’m spending a lot of time looking up.

 

 

About cindyricksgers

I am an artist. I live on an island in northern Lake Michigan, USA. I have two grown daughters, four strong, smart and handsome grandsons and one beautiful, intelligent and charming granddaughter. I live with two spoiled dogs. I love walking in the woods around my home, reading, writing and playing in my studio.

3 responses »

  1. I love how the light changes in autumn, making the colors of not only the trees but also the sky much more deep and vibrant. We’re blessed to have such an active autumn to experience and admire.

Leave a Reply

