Timeout for Art: Sentinels

Standard

img_8472

Three of these large coiled sculptures sit on the north side of my house. This area of the yard grows wild – a low stone wall separates it from the part that I mow – so the sculptures rest among wild lily of the valley, maple seedlings and blackberry canes. They look like something that might spring up in nature, though they are created from my imagination, and interaction with the soft clay. As they have been fired in the reduction kiln to at least cone 10, they are stoneware: as hard and durable as stone. They stay outside in all weather, through winter and summer. Although they appear to be grayish in these photos, the colors are rich shades of brown. They range from 39 to 48 inches in height.

img_8469

img_8467

About cindyricksgers

I am an artist. I live on an island in northern Lake Michigan, USA. I have two grown daughters, four strong, smart and handsome grandsons and one beautiful, intelligent and charming granddaughter. I live with two spoiled dogs. I love walking in the woods around my home, reading, writing and playing in my studio.

6 responses »

  1. They are great, and again, you are so talented! These remind me of some wasp nests here in Ecuador that are quite spooky looking when they are very close, and you realize the potential for ‘flight or get stung’ is a reality. There was one on my morning ’rounds’ and after feeding the fish, I’d stand on the bridge and greet the wasps, only ten or so feet away… then i’d watch them crawling over the nest as they awakened… ‘you don’t bother me, and i won’t bother you,’ i’d say, and eventually i’d say goodbye and slowly back away…

    Your sculptures look a lot like those nests, and appear to be about the same size!

    • I’ve heard these compared to wasps nests before. Also termite mounds and [Australian] ant hills. My sister took photos from inside of land formations in the southwest United States that she said made her feel like she was inside one of these sculptures. I wasn’t aiming for any of those images, but am pleased by all the comparisons. Thanks for your comments, Lisa!

    • Thank you! I did these when i was at Michigan State, where they had three huge kilns. I have a small one. When works like these are made in smaller versions, they look, unfortunately, like lamp bases.

  2. they seem to be sentinels, watching over the land. How lovely to know they were made by your hand and stand there, a testimony to your creative soul.

Leave a Reply

