Not a Good Morning

Standard

september2016-034

I had a good, productive day yesterday.

I put in a good eight hours of writing, editing, and bookkeeping. Rounded out by necessary phone calls and Emails. I took the dogs and myself for a one-hour walk. I picked up a few groceries, then met three of my cousins for “Happy Hour.” On m way home, I stopped at Aunt Katie’s for a final “good-bye” to my cousin, Keith, who is leaving this morning, and to pick up some tomatoes, to process for the freezer. I was home before eight o’clock, in bed before ten.

This morning, I am miserable. My back hurts; my head hurts; my stomach is roiling. Though I arranged to have this morning off to finish up a few last minute items, I have yet to accomplish anything. I’ve taken three ibuprofen tablets, and am now nibbling on a piece of bread to try to settle my stomach. I don’t want to be sick!

I can’t afford to be sick. I need to get in all the work for pay that I can. I don’t have time to be sick. I have put off, delayed and procrastinated on other responsibilities until the eleventh hour. That hour is here. There is no pleasure in illness. I remember, in the ancient archives of my life, being tucked under covers, given a warm, soothing drink and having my forehead rubbed. No matter how miserable I felt, there was comfort there. In my life today, misery is just that, nothing more.

I refuse to be sick!

About cindyricksgers

I am an artist. I live on an island in northern Lake Michigan, USA. I have two grown daughters, four strong, smart and handsome grandsons and one beautiful, intelligent and charming granddaughter. I live with two spoiled dogs. I love walking in the woods around my home, reading, writing and playing in my studio.

9 responses »

  1. Cindy, I’m so sorry. I wish we could just decide not to have days like this. Hopefully, your determination will prevail, and whatever’s trying to mess with you will give up and leave! Feel better soon, if not immediately!

  2. Sometimes refusing to be sick does work (I’ve used it many times) – doesn’t hurt to also take a couple of massive doses of vitamin C! Sending you healthy energy!!

Leave a Reply

