Timeout for Art: Bill

Standard

Timebill2

I had to run to the bank yesterday, to do a little money-changing. Next door to the bank is the wood-working shop that used to belong to my friend, Bill. I would stop in for a cup of coffee and a bit of conversation whenever I had a few extra minutes. I’d watch him put together buckets, or see how he was coming along on canoes in progress.

Bill died almost five years ago. His shop is now run by a young family. It has been cleaned up and expanded to produce kayaks, skateboards and paddle boards as well as the canoes and buckets that were his staple. T-shirts advertising the wares hang in the windows. Time marches on.

Yesterday, though, as I left the bank, for just an instant I forgot. I almost turned to step in the door to call out a hello to my good friend, Bill. It was just a second – a little time-warp – but enough to keep thoughts of him close to me for the rest of the day. For that reason, I pulled up this old drawing, so I could see his smile.

About cindyricksgers

I am an artist. I live on an island in northern Lake Michigan, USA. I have two grown daughters, four strong, smart and handsome grandsons and one beautiful, intelligent and charming granddaughter. I live with two spoiled dogs. I love walking in the woods around my home, reading, writing and playing in my studio.

One response »

  1. I get those little time warp things too. They’re kind of sad, but a way to remember the good stuff about the people we can’t see anymore. Luckily you have a sketch to “see” Bill.

Leave a Reply

