Saturday Morning

Standard

august2016 009

I finished glazing thirty small paintings at two o’clock this morning. I left them to dry resting on top of the books on my shelves, set the alarm for 8:30, and went to bed. Rosa Parks woke me first, at four AM, to go outside. She woke me next at seven, nuzzling me to get her routine morning belly rubs, certain that I had overslept, and that she was helping.

“No, this is snooze time, Rosa,” I told her…but my voice roused Darla, who came to the bedside to offer her own morning kisses. So, up and coffee in hand, my day is ahead of me. We have been outside, to test the weather and look at the sky, but no walk yet, for Darla.

I want to lay out my paintings and photograph them, now, in their finished state, in case they (oh, my beating heart!) are a big hit today and go off to different homes. I need to load the car with lawn chair, sunscreen, art work, coffee, notebook and reading material. My goal is to be comfortable and to look content, even when no one wants to stop to chat.

I have to shower and dress, with the added problems of looking creative, being comfortable, and allowing for the changing weather from morning ’til evening. A pleasant start can turn into a scorching hot and humid day. So far, it’s a beautiful day.

I have to remember to bring my hammer and stop at the hardware for nails so that I can do my own hanging. I’d better get on with it!

About cindyricksgers

I am an artist. I live on an island in northern Lake Michigan, USA. I have two grown daughters, four strong, smart and handsome grandsons and one beautiful, intelligent and charming granddaughter. I live with two spoiled dogs. I love walking in the woods around my home, reading, writing and playing in my studio.

7 responses »

  1. Good luck, I so wish I could be there to see your new paintings. In the end I could have made it to the island as my dad doesn’t have anything going on until the 17th. I tried to get my brother to reschedule an appointment he had but he didn’t go along with that idea. I kind of lowers your self worth when someone would rather have a colonoscopy than take a trip with you.

  2. I hope your day was enjoyable – I especially like the part where you have to choose clothes to make you look creative. Interesting, isn’t it? How we try to send subversive messages to our prospective customers? I hope you know you’re creative no matter what you wear – even jammies!

Leave a Reply

