Some Things…

Standard

july2016 401

Beaver Island is a magical place.

Really, a Magical Place.

I remember that about it, always, even when I don’t feel it. I’m not surprised to see the stunned awe on the faces of new visitors, or the bright smiles of return guests. I recognize that feeling, even when I’m too exhausted to feel it.

The fact is, I’ve been here a long time. I’m busy. I’m tired. I’ve seen it, over and over. Even the extraordinary seems ordinary when it’s right there, every day.

Then, suddenly, there’s that old magic again. Sometimes it’s just a matter of forgetting to be so accustomed to what surrounds me. Allowing myself to be amazed. Just letting the magic happen.

Some Things That Are Magical Until You Get Used To Them, So They Aren’t…Until You Forget That You’ve Grown Used To Them, And They Become Magical Again

[yes, a very long title, indeed!]

  • White sand beaches
  • Sunsets over the water
  • Whitetail deer
  • Black squirrels
  • Canopies of trees
  • Sand dunes
  • White birch trees
  • Conifer forests
  • Lilacs in the springtime
  • Milkweed in the summer
  • Apples in the fall
  • a wonderland in winter
  • the view of the lighthouse beyond the harbor as you come around the corner in to town
  • Hidden trails
  • Remote beaches
  • Barney’s Lake (and the steep hill leading down to it!)
  • Font Lake
  • Lake Genaserath
  • Fox Lake (especially in the fall of the year!)
  • Miller’s Marsh (loaded with little frogs right now!)
  • the church steeple
  • the Angelus bells
  • the moon over the water
  • and the water all around

No doubt about it, a Magical Place.

About cindyricksgers

I am an artist. I live on an island in northern Lake Michigan, USA. I have two grown daughters, four strong, smart and handsome grandsons and one beautiful, intelligent and charming granddaughter. I live with two spoiled dogs. I love walking in the woods around my home, reading, writing and playing in my studio.

5 responses »

  1. that’s a lovely list of magic. I remember, one year, we took friends from France around Quebec. I grew up in the province and spent a large part of my life traveling around its beauty. I had forgotten, really, how beautiful my country is.

  2. I’m glad you appreciate the magic. I remember once when some friends were here to visit and they’d never seen the Mississippi River. It runs between Minneapolis and St. Paul and I see it all the time, but these friends were in awe. The mighty Mississippi, right in my back yard.

Leave a Reply

