Timeout for Art: Painted Collage

Standard

chairs, artwork 009"porcelain" (detail)

When I first started combining collage and painted surfaces, I used the grid as a simple means of pulling all of the elements together into a cohesive image. The grid is static, solid and geometric. That makes it a good base for ideas that lean toward the organic, ethereal and unpredictable.

This piece started with paint poured onto a non porous surface (I used a shower curtain). I spread the paint around with brushes and pallet knives, deliberately leaving marks in the surface and creating various thicknesses. When it was completely dry, I cut it into small rectangles using a sturdy template and kitchen shears.

I glued the rectangles onto a canvas-covered panel with polymer medium, letting the adhesive ooze up, in places, between the tiles. When that was dry, I embellished the surface. First, I applied thin layers of paint to enhance the color already there. Next, I rubbed the surface with powdered graphite, to give it a metallic sheen. Finally, I glazed the piece with matte finish liquid polymer – tinted slightly – by pouring it over the surface and allowing it to fill in the cracks and crevices.

The finished size is 24″ x 30″; the title is “Porcelain.”

 

About cindyricksgers

I am an artist. I live on an island in northern Lake Michigan, USA. I have two grown daughters, four strong, smart and handsome grandsons and one beautiful, intelligent and charming granddaughter. I live with two spoiled dogs. I love walking in the woods around my home, reading, writing and playing in my studio.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

