Rainy Day

Standard

july2016 303

The rain clouds came in just around four o’clock yesterday afternoon.  I noticed the sky as I was driving back to town after a meeting at the township hall. I reached for my camera. On this island, clouds can make quite a show. The camera wasn’t where I expected it to be, on the console between the two seats, and I instead reached my entire hand into a cup of cold coffee that was resting there. I gave up the search.

At the hardware, employees and customers were watching the storm move in. By the time the ferry boat docked, it was pouring rain. It continued coming down – hard – for much of the next two hours.

I sold the last umbrella. I sold tarps and drop cloths and kits to repair tents. This is the weekend of the Beaver Island Music Festival, and many of the attendees camp out. With a start like this, I imagine campers will be pretty damp all weekend!

It was still raining when I closed the hardware, coming down steadily when I went to the grocery store and it had not yet stopped when I pulled in my own driveway. The dogs weren’t crazy about going outside in that weather, but I made them do it anyway. I unloaded the mail and a small box of groceries, my thermos, purse and lunch box. Then, finally, we were able to be inside for the night.

I started a load of wash, fed the dogs, made two telephone calls and started preparing my dinner. As I sat down at the desk, I noticed the dogs had made themselves comfortable, too.

july2016 210

About cindyricksgers

I am an artist. I live on an island in northern Lake Michigan, USA. I have two grown daughters, four strong, smart and handsome grandsons and one beautiful, intelligent and charming granddaughter. I live with two spoiled dogs. I love walking in the woods around my home, reading, writing and playing in my studio.

2 responses »

  1. Oh how I love a rainy day, but the one you describe seems like it might have been a little chaotic for you. I hope the music festival is a success despite the weather. What kind of music is it, and does it last all weekend long?

    • The festival goers are all drying out today, and said the first day was a great success despite the rain. It’s a good mix of folk, country and indie-rock bands at the music festival, and it runs Thursday through Sunday. More info on line at bimf.net..they have vendors there…some do okay, though I only ever barely scraped by, but the music is good!

Leave a Reply

