Timeout for Art: Begging Bowls

Standard

january2016 070

I start with a ball of clay about the size of an orange. Sometimes I roll the ball in powdered clay of a darker color, to add texture and interest to the surface. I open the ball by pressing a thumb into the center of what will now be the top. Only to the first knuckle, though: it’s important to work slowly, so the clay will willingly take the shape without cracking or splitting. I turn the ball in my hands, supporting the outside wall with one hand while stretching and smoothing the inside wall with the thumb. This is thoughtful, meditative work. It is impossible to rush it. Eventually, it will become a thin-walled vessel that will easily fit in the contours of an open palm. That’s where the name “begging bowl” comes from. I like the idea that if you place one in the location of something you need (and perhaps drop a few coins in it occasionally), what you need will eventually come to you.

january2016 071

About cindyricksgers

I am an artist. I live on an island in northern Lake Michigan, USA. I have two grown daughters, four strong, smart and handsome grandsons and one beautiful, intelligent and charming granddaughter. I live with two spoiled dogs. I love walking in the woods around my home, reading, writing and playing in my studio.

One response »

  1. Cindy, I am so late on leaving a comment, but I have enjoyed this post so much and wish I could stick my hand into the screen and hold one of those lovely pots! There’s something so earthy and primal about them… Good Work, and it was posted on my birthday!!!!! (Shhhh!)

    All’s fine here.. loks like in another week the property might have a new owner, hence why I’ve not been online much.. lots happening! Love, Lisa

Leave a Reply

