The 52 Lists Project #28

Standard

july2016 050List the wildest things you want to try:

  • I want to try raising chickens…again. Combine that with many other aspects of self-sufficiency, like growing most of my vegetables and fruits, making my own breads, canning and freezing for winter storage, perhaps keeping a goat or two to provide milk to make cheese…this has been something I’ve always wanted, but never quite succeeded at. I often think the idea is better than the reality. Still…chickens are a good place to start.
  • I want to build a wood-fired kiln and make large scale ceramic sculptures.
  • I want to (I think), in this life, fall in love again. Knowing my need for solitude combined with my stubborn, cantankerous, set-in-my-ways personality, I know how unlikely that is. I’m not saying I want a companion or a partner, as in “any good man will do,” but love. Have I become too cynical for that? I wonder.
  • I want to walk the entire shoreline of Beaver Island. I’d love to suggest the Appalachian Trail, El Camino or the Pacific Coast Trail, but honestly…

I am saddened by this short list. It is the combination, I think, of the words “wildest” and “want.” There are quite a few things I want to do…but they are pretty tame aspirations. They don’t seem appropriate for this list. There were times in my life when there seemed to be more time and possibility, when I dared to dream big…and wild. I’ve even accomplished some pretty outrageous things in my life. At this stage, with this list, this is the best I can do today.

About cindyricksgers

I am an artist. I live on an island in northern Lake Michigan, USA. I have two grown daughters, four strong, smart and handsome grandsons and one beautiful, intelligent and charming granddaughter. I live with two spoiled dogs. I love walking in the woods around my home, reading, writing and playing in my studio.

4 responses »

    • Thanks! I imagine, I guess, that – with “wild” as a directive – things like jumping from a plane, hang gliding, climbing a mountain or sailing around the world might be good answers. I have none of those aspirations…but you’re exactly right…this would be enough!

      • Those things you list may be great for some…..but those things don’t seem to go with your nature. I think you are a creator. Not a dare devil. So your list goes to creating, and existing where creating is inspired. 🙂

Leave a Reply

