Timeout for Art: “A Land Chanty”

Standard

collagraph6

During the years I was studying at Michigan State University, I still spent summers on Beaver Island. I drove snakes out of the house, tore up wild juniper, and planted potatoes. I planned alterations to the house and yard. When I went back to campus in the fall, it took me two weeks to get used to the sounds of the city, after the quiet of my home on the island. I often heard the rustling of my old maple trees in my dreams.

This piece speaks to the hold my little piece of property had on me: the organizing and planning; the upkeep; the maintenance; the coming-to and going-away. A “chanty” is a little – often irreverent or funny – song. That seemed appropriate, as this was not serious business, but just a little tribute to land that always held a place in my heart.

collagraph5

About cindyricksgers

I am an artist. I live on an island in northern Lake Michigan, USA. I have two grown daughters, four strong, smart and handsome grandsons and one beautiful, intelligent and charming granddaughter. I live with two spoiled dogs. I love walking in the woods around my home, reading, writing and playing in my studio.

2 responses »

  1. Cindy that’s a lovely painting, and yes, when we have a strong connection to the subject, it will usually turn out to be a strong painting.

    i hope that the long days of summer are being kind to you! as always, i’m about to be offline again until sometime next week.

Leave a Reply

