Timeout for Art: Kinship

Standard

collagraph postcard 002

The people we like most to spend time with, whether they are family, friends or lovers, are those we have many things in common with. That’s often the first attraction. What becomes more important, after weeks or months or years, are the differences rather than the similarities. Though we first seek out people who look like us or think like us, who share our politics or religious principles, later we look for the subtle variations. We all want to be individuals, at heart.

These were the thoughts and ideas I was exploring when I was developing this collagraph. I think the same holds true to this image: the similarities are evident, but it is the slight differences that draw you in. This is titled “Kinship.”

About cindyricksgers

I am an artist. I live on an island in northern Lake Michigan, USA. I have two grown daughters, four strong, smart and handsome grandsons and one beautiful, intelligent and charming granddaughter. I live with two spoiled dogs. I love walking in the woods around my home, reading, writing and playing in my studio.

One response »

Leave a Reply

