Babies

Standard

Screenshot_2016-06-03-07-03-16-1

These two beautiful boys were born late yesterday, in New York. They don’t yet have middle names, and we haven’t been told if they are identical twins. I’ll tell you what I do know.

Their great-grandmother is my dear friend Emma Jean, who I worked with for many years at the Shamrock.

Emma Jean called her daughter, Kathleen, at 12:30 in the morning to give her the news. Kathleen used to babysit for my daughters. Now, she works with me at the hardware store…which is how I so quickly gained knowledge of the new arrivals.

Kathleen, in turn, went in to tell the news to her daughter, Emma Lee, who gave an enthusiastic fist pump when she learned the new cousins were two boys. Other aunts and uncles were alerted, too, I’m sure.

The twin’s grandmother is Cissy, another of Emma Jean’s daughters. According to Kathleen, she was tearfully ecstatic, and on her way to meet the boys.

Their mother is Katy who, along with her brother Jimmy, were some of my first students when I taught the summer art program here on Beaver Island. It’s hard to believe that she’s all grown up, and is now a mother herself.

Levi weighed in at a little bit under five pounds; James weighed a little over five pounds. They are perfectly healthy. They are absolutely perfect!

 

4 responses »

Leave a Reply

