Timeout for Art: No Time for Art

Standard

may2016 110

Have I used this title already?

I don’t know.

It seems like this is a frustration that has become all too common lately: no time for art.

I have counseled others in the past. I’ve said, if it’s important, you will find the time. I cringe at my arrogance. Sometimes, it is not a matter of lack of desire or not enough interest or a shortage of passion. Sometimes it is simply that there is not enough time.

If I were to run into a little extra time, beyond my 40-hour-a-week job, and the news magazine that takes all my spare time (though I cut corners and neglect duties associated with it and always feel that I should be doing more)…if there were more hours available after dog walking and helping my aunt…if I didn’t have this writing commitment…if I didn’t need to take care of my own house and yard, cook my own meals, do my own laundry…if I had a gardener…well, then!

If my time were freed up in some magical way, so that things that demanded my attention, and things I have neglected and felt guilty about, and things that have just been ignored were all taken care of…I would be in the studio.

I might be assembling collages, inking collagraph plates, or painting. I might be wedging balls of clay or shredding paper for pulp. I could be trying out something brand new, or finishing something that has been waiting for months. I’d see it now with fresh eyes, and would find a new and fresh way forward. I might find a way to use old materials, or burn them to make room for new ideas.

I would be busy, that I guarantee. I would be enjoying myself.

Tears come, as I type. This is not a happy situation. Long ago, I placed art in the center of my life, crucial to my identity, important to my sense of self. How did my life become so full of things that are not art? This is the frustration coming through. The frustration that comes from no time for art.

About cindyricksgers

I am an artist. I live on an island in northern Lake Michigan, USA. I have two grown daughters, four strong, smart and handsome grandsons and one beautiful, intelligent and charming granddaughter. I live with two spoiled dogs. I love walking in the woods around my home, reading, writing and playing in my studio.

6 responses »

  1. Something’s got to give. Choose your priorities. Don’t let guilt push you around because that’s just wasted energy. Live the life you love and love the life you live. OK, there’s your nonprofessional advice for the day. Be happy!

    • I know…I’ve been talking to myself this way for quite a while now. I’ve been trying with all my might to find someone to take over the Beacon (just folding it – with subscribers and advertisers paid into the future – would bankrupt me. Even that – which is not really an option – is not affordable!). I had an encouraging time last week, telling myself if I could NOT find a successor, I would simply have to retire from the hardware, draw social security early and concentrate on the Beacon and the rest of my life. Then my sister Brenda, the C.P.A., talked to me about real money figures, about how I’d be without health insurance, about the amount I’d be allowed to earn…all true, and good of her to say so, but it put me right back at square one, where it seems the only things that can be pushed aside are already neglected, and there’s nothing left to adjust. Luckily, mostly, I’m okay with it. This week, I’m feeling discouraged. Thanks for listening, and for the advise!

      • Cripes, Cindy – how do you get yourself into these predicaments! I have no doubt that you will succeed in all areas of your life (as evidenced by your track record), even when you feel a little overwhelmed by it all. Good luck with everything – I’m rooting for you!

  2. of course, to others looking on, it seems simple…like dump the magazine and have a bunch of friends come over for a Saturday work day in exchange for pizza and beer. I wonder what in my life someone is arrogant enough to think they could solve with a few typed words?

    • It’s definitely not simple…it sounds as if you have experience with being in similar overwhelming situations. Most of the time, I am overworked, but okay. This week, especially worn out after traveling, I am discouraged. Thanks for listening!

Leave a Reply

