A Change in Attitude

Standard

may2016 120

I’ve been neglecting writing about addresses lately. I wrote myself right into one of the most difficult times in my life, and then just settled there, mired in the sadness of endings. I have other locations to write about: places filled with hope and laughter and promise, where I learned about moving forward even when the path isn’t there. I needed to rest a bit, in the space where I learned about letting go. I’ll be moving on to the next address soon.

I finished the book, Helter Skelter, that I was re-reading after forty years. I learned things that I didn’t know or had forgotten, both about the crime and the trial. I’d forgotten, for instance, that President Nixon had made a statement about Manson’s guilt while the trial was still underway. It made headlines, and could have unhinged the entire trial, but for some quick back-stepping. I didn’t remember the plot to hijack a 747, in an attempt to free Manson. I had forgotten that he had children. The author seemed a bit self-aggrandizing; I didn’t notice that the first time I read the book. He was extremely critical of the officers investigating one of the crimes. I’m interested in how that assessment was received at the time. Mostly, though, the questions that had caused me to pick up the book again were answered. The reading of it has disrupted my thoughts and disturbed my sleep. I’m happy to put it to rest.

I have a few hours of writing, editing and office work to do, but if I just hunker down and get it out of the way, I should be done for a few days. It seems like I’ve been strapped to this computer whenever I’m at home. In the spring of the year, when I’m being pulled in so many other directions, that is not a good feeling. The idea of being able to step away from it is greatly improving my mood!

I started my day off this morning with a walk around the yard and garden. In my mind, I ticked off a list of things to do. The grass is getting long: I’ll have to fill the gas can and get the mower fired up. Though I’ve been steadily working at clearing the flower beds of leaves and grasses, there is still much to be done there. If I’m going to plant vegetables, the garden needs to be worked up. The poppies – which I erroneously reported yesterday were not up yet – are definitely ready for transplanting. I’ll have to call the friends who are taking my excess this year. I’ve got to get some straw for weed control in the garden paths. I have to finish moving the mound of pine chips to the front walkway.

I picked a fragrant bouquet of hyacinth before I came back inside. Now, with the scent of spring filling the room, and a hot cup of coffee beside me, I’m ready to take on this day!

 

 

About cindyricksgers

I am an artist. I live on an island in northern Lake Michigan, USA. I have two grown daughters, four strong, smart and handsome grandsons and one beautiful, intelligent and charming granddaughter. I live with two spoiled dogs. I love walking in the woods around my home, reading, writing and playing in my studio.

7 responses »

  1. So many things, so little time. The thing that hit me the most was your bouquet of hyacinth. Hyacinth is one of the most popular candle fragrances I make and you’re so lucky to be able to have the real thing. Happy Spring!

  2. Cindy, I think we all smelling your hyacinths. I will wave over in your direction when heading downstate this week. Off to stay with my mom in the Thumb for a week or so. Enjoy the spring!

Leave a Reply

