Rain

Standard

august2014 083

Last night, it rained. Boy, we needed it!  Though it seems the snow has just barely disappeared, things are dry here on Beaver Island.

I recently re-typed a notice from our fire chief, explaining the reasons (less overall snowfall, for one) and warning about the increased fire danger. With all the dry brush, and all the dead and dying beech trees, a blaze could quickly get out of control. This rain will help.

Spring seemed to be on hold, waiting for a rain. Though trees are in bud, the leaves are slow to open. Yesterday, finally, my forsythia burst into yellow blooms. My little species tulips opened up. I’ve been watching my rhubarb hedge closely, anxious for the first, tender stalks. Though it showed bright red at the ground level, there was no growth. This morning, I can see from my window that the stalks have pushed up, and the leaves are unfurled. The entire lawn looks, suddenly, like it needs to be mowed.

I never sleep so well as I do when it’s raining. My sleep has been fitful and scattered for weeks, my mind filled with too many lists of things that need to be finished, and concerns  about how to manage my time to get it all done, to allow good rest. I was thinking last week, up to stay at 3AM, how I was becoming accustomed to getting no more than four or five hours of sleep at night. Not last night!

I slept like a baby, through the whole rainy night. When the alarm went off this morning, I tagged the snooze button and went right back to sleep. Then I did it again, and again. When I finally got up, well-rested and good-humored, I could see that – barring a miracle – I would once again be late for work.

Well…I guess I can blame the rain!

 

2 responses »

  1. I love rainy nights too, and I’m glad you got some much needed rain (and sleep!) on the island. Last week we had a ton of rain, many days in the row, which gardeners and farmers appreciated much. I just love to bask in the gloomy days and the beautiful shade of green they leave behind.

  2. Cindy, Cindy I think your tombstone will bear a list, but I don’t know if it will have the heading, “Things I wanted to do”, “Could you finish this for me”, or “Things I done.” Not that I’m trying to rush anything.
    You should try to get more sleep though. I may have told you about it before but there is a supplement under the name Calm in health food stores. It helps when that “to do”, or “how to do’ anxiety is keeping you awake. May the 4th be with you.

Leave a Reply

