Timeout for Art: Talking

Standard

clay work

I spent some time yesterday talking with friends about art. Not my own work, and not theirs either, but art that we’ve admired or that we’d like to try. There aren’t very many opportunities for that in my life lately, and I miss it.

In college, there were a dozen chances a day to speak with others about art. After a while, it seemed like we’d all get too much “in our heads” about it, and it would be helpful to step back. Sometimes the best conversations are just between the artist and the materials.

I like the “conversations” that go on between art works. When created by the same person, there’s always an ongoing dialogue that adds intensity and interest to each individual piece when viewed among its “peers.” A good curator can create interactions between disparate works by different artists by careful juxtaposition.

Yesterday was simple: just the pleasure of a chat, with art as the subject.

 

About cindyricksgers

I am an artist. I live on an island in northern Lake Michigan, USA. I have two grown daughters, four strong, smart and handsome grandsons and one beautiful, intelligent and charming granddaughter. I live with two spoiled dogs. I love walking in the woods around my home, reading, writing and playing in my studio.

3 responses »

  1. Yesterday I went to Barnes & Nobles to take advantage of a 20% off coupon before it expired. I struck up a conversation with the clerk about the book I was buying which led to my favorite author, why he was so, my favorite of the books he authored and his influences.
    Problems I had with reading as a young child left a bad taste and I never had any love for reading until my adult years. In fact, I would make up books for my book reports so I didn’t have to read in high school. (I usually got a pretty good grade on them). I’ve kind of got off the subject, but I would never have believed then, that I would ever have had such a pleasurable conversation, or interaction over literature as I did in that store yesterday. I guess what I’m trying to say is sometimes the enjoyment, the pleasure you get from someone’s work, their art goes well beyond the work itself.

Leave a Reply

