Off-Track

Standard

february2016 134

I like to get my writing done early. One good thing finished right off, before I get busy with my day. No stress about finding time to do it later, no worries about forgetting about it. It doesn’t always work out. Today is one of those times.

Last night, I went to bed early and slept all through the night. There was no moonlight writing and tea-drinking so, my daily blog was not yet done when I got up this morning. I did not get up early enough to have extra time.  Taking time to write would have caused me to be even later for work than usual, so I didn’t.

I did stress about it a little bit, while I was working at the hardware store. I had a big rearranging project going on there. It involved moving shelves and much ladder climbing. I thought I might be ready to collapse by the time I was done. I did a little composing in my head as I worked.

Turns out, I was not as exhausted as I thought I would be. It was a beautiful, warm day, though, with lots of snow melt. As soon as I got home, Rosa Parks and I went for a walk. Now I’m tired. Too tired, at least, to tackle the writing I was going to do. My move to Beaver Island will have to wait.

I have a good book started. I think – since I’m already off-track – I may just let everything else go this evening, too, and just read.

About cindyricksgers

I am an artist. I live on an island in northern Lake Michigan, USA. I have two grown daughters, four strong, smart and handsome grandsons and one beautiful, intelligent and charming granddaughter. I live with two spoiled dogs. I love walking in the woods around my home, reading, writing and playing in my studio.

7 responses »

    • That’s the best, curled up by the fire! I am almost led to believe spring is here, by the temperatures and the snow melt. I think we have a couple big storms left, though, before it warms for good.

  1. Reading about your work at the hardware made me tired from just reading about the ladder climbing. No matter what you write about, it’s always interesting. Off track, on track, just write and tell about your day or night, or whatever. 🙂

  2. Regarding the writing, I think you’re doing a marvelous job, even though you might be “off track” with your plans. Regarding weather – Saturday we had temps in the 60s, and I woke up Sunday morning to a bunch of snow flying! This time of year is so unpredictable. Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

