Timeout for Art: Sketch-a-Day

Standard

sketches

One sketch a day was the goal I set.

I don’t know what I was hoping for, really…maybe that time would open up and there would be enough minutes to give a drawing what it needed. Or that the months of neglect would fall away, if I just put pencil to paper each day.

Clearly, that didn’t happen.

My hand is still learning to follow my eyes; my eyes still remembering how to really look. Even when I found myself absorbed by what I was doing, there was still sleep, or work, or the dog needing to go outside that necessitated putting the pencil down.

What did occur?

I did it: one sketch per day. These aren’t great art. Some lines are tentative; rendering is often flawed; many sketches are weak. So weak, the lines are almost impossible for the scanner to pick up. Still, I did it.

While I was at this task, I remembered the meditative quality of drawing: how the outside world can fall away and the only communication is between eye and hand. I pleasantly recalled how much I enjoyed being immersed in getting that depiction down. I felt my hand grow steadier through the week. It seemed, when I’m being pulled from one obligation to another, an assertion – in this one small  way – of my own path.

For that alone, it is worth it.

 

About cindyricksgers

I am an artist. I live on an island in northern Lake Michigan, USA. I have two grown daughters, four strong, smart and handsome grandsons and one beautiful, intelligent and charming granddaughter. I live with two spoiled dogs. I love walking in the woods around my home, reading, writing and playing in my studio.

3 responses »

    • Oh, thank you, Linda! I used to have quite an ability…even taught drawing classes for years, but I’ve gotten rusty from neglect. I see hope, though, in these modest efforts. Thanks for your kind comments!

  1. These are great Cindy and happy to see your drawings! Your tenacity has paid off in achieving your goal of a drawing a day – looking forward to many more.

Leave a Reply

