The 52 Lists Project #6

Standard

february2016 014

Week 6: List the ways you love to have fun:

I love to

  • Read
  • Write
  • Work puzzles
  • Play word games
  • Play trivia
  • Plan
  • Arrange things
  • Rearrange things
  • Paint
  • Draw
  • Take pictures
  • Garden
  • Walk

Most activities are solitary, true.

My mother once said, “Of anyone, Cindy could live on Beaver Island just fine. She always was the most anti-social of all my children.”

My sisters and brothers once jokingly decided I was the most likely to be able to survive in prison, for many reasons including my enjoyment of being alone, my ability to entertain myself with just a book or a deck of cards, and my appreciation for cafeteria food.

I do reach out, though, through my art and my writing. Sometimes, though rarely, I even enjoy hanging out, having conversations and laughing.

About cindyricksgers

I am an artist. I live on an island in northern Lake Michigan, USA. I have two grown daughters, four strong, smart and handsome grandsons and one beautiful, intelligent and charming granddaughter. I live with two spoiled dogs. I love walking in the woods around my home, reading, writing and playing in my studio.

6 responses »

  1. I love my solidarity, living alone. For the first 5 years of my retirement I did about everything alone, kayaked, camped, biked and hiked. The last 5 years I have enjoyed sharing with friends the places I discovered during that period. I do enjoyed people, but often feel a strong urge to pull back into that solidarity.

    • Yes! I don’t think I’m really ANTI-social, and I don’t think that’s exactly what Mom meant, either. I think I don’t need social interaction as much as some people seem to, that’s all.

  2. Here’s to the introverts! I’m one too, and find lovely company with myself. Husby also tends to be non-social. Sometimes we have to force ourselves to go out in public with other people for fear we’ll turn into weird hermits if we don’t, but I think that’s a lost cause. We’re already weird hermits and perfectly happy with it.

Leave a Reply

