The 52 Lists Project #5

Standard

january2016 182Week #5: List what you would like your life to look like in ten years

Again, this seems to be a challenge more suited for a younger person…one with more life ahead of them. My first inclination is to make jokes: I could describe my ideal cemetery plot, or list any number of glib responses like:

“I’d like to still be vertical.”

“Not yet in a home.”

“Above ground.”

“Still able to feed myself.”

These are all true statements, but indicative of the age-bias that I still seem to hold onto (having been a part of the generation that didn’t trust anyone over the age of thirty and sang, “…Hope I die before I get old!”), though I’m old enough to be affected by it. When it comes right down to it, I still make plans for far into the future, though I passed the median life expectancy many years ago.

  • I would like to be self sufficient and strong
  • with my mental faculties still intact.
  • I would hope to be retired from working for others.
  • I would like to be taking long walks every day
  • I plan to still keep up a large garden
  • and maybe finally add a small flock of chickens.
  • I would still be active in art-making
  • and possibly still teaching a bit.
  • I’d possibly have built my wood fire kiln,
  • and be working a great deal more in clay.
  • I’d like to think I’d be “known” by then, for my art or my writing (perhaps a book or two?)
  • and that I’d get some travel in, to art openings or bookstores, for promotional purposes.
  • I hope my sisters and I will still find opportunity to get together, and that we’ll continue to have plenty to laugh and talk about,
  • that my daughters will still appreciate my company
  • and my friends will still be close.

 

About cindyricksgers

I am an artist. I live on an island in northern Lake Michigan, USA. I have two grown daughters, four strong, smart and handsome grandsons and one beautiful, intelligent and charming granddaughter. I live with two spoiled dogs. I love walking in the woods around my home, reading, writing and playing in my studio.

4 responses »

  1. Your first list made me laugh out loud, but I like the second one better! I hope that by making plans for the future–like buying more yarn and fabric–I am extending the length of time I’m allowed to stay “vertical.” No point in taking us out of the game when we still have so many useful supplies left, right? 🙂

Leave a Reply

