The 52 Lists Project

Standard

january2016 008

Because a year of writing every single day is a lot of writing, and a lot of days to come up with something to write about, I’m starting right out with some “filler.”

Thursdays, I’m going to continue with my “Timeout for Art” post. I’ve been so negligent of it for the last several months, it’s a stretch to even say “continue,” but, anyway.

Sundays, I am taking my cue from a book. The 52 Lists Project, by Moorea Seal, provides suggestions for every week of the year. Since this is the beginning of 2016, I’m going to just start at the beginning and work my way through, Sunday to Sunday.

It may be more than many of you would care to learn about me. Still, if you know me at all, you know that when I have nothing to talk about, I don’t hesitate to jump in with amusing anecdotes about my little dog, Rosa Parks, complaints about whatever is not going perfectly in my life and long tirades about how much I have to do. Better to just bear with me and my lists.

Now, looking at the first suggestion, I already want to cheat. “List your goals and dreams for this year.” For my sixty-third birthday last August, I listed sixty-three aspirations, so it feels like I’ve already done this one. Not only for the year, but for the rest of my life! But, if I skip week #1, there will come a Sunday where I won’t have a list. Dammit! Rules!

Week #1: List your goals and dreams for this year

  • I want to get my garden out of its state of neglect and back in shape with groomed pathways between the raised beds and thriving plants.
  • I want flooring throughout my house.
  • I want to get settled into a routine that gives me time to do all the things I have to do (work, work, work) and all the things I want to do (garden, make art, read, write) and some things that will be good for me (walk, exercise, meditate) and some things just for the hell of it.
  • I want to lose 10 pounds. Maybe 15.
  • I want to accomplish this task of writing every day.

There, I think that’s enough. No sense in pushing it!

7 responses »

  1. that’s a pretty good list for sure. I’m not sure I have a list, or a plan, or a project. Although there are things I intend to work on, am working on, like writing a children’s book for my granddaughter who is scheduled to arrive in this realm in a few weeks.

    • I have too many lists, plans and projects…but sometimes that works for me. You seem to get plenty of forward motion in your life, no matter how you do it! Children’s book sounds like fun! Thanks for reading, Joss, and for your comments!

  2. I love your house! OK, now that that’s out of the way I’m raising a glass to you right now in hopes that you can accomplish all you want, day by day, week by week. I’m looking forward to hearing about your art and your day to day adventures on the island in your cute house. You go, girl!

Leave a Reply

