Snow or Not

Standard

december2015 105

It’s Christmas.

I don’t send Christmas cards, but I receive them, still, and am thrilled with each and every one. I have them taped to the faces of my kitchen cabinets, where I enjoy them every day.

Over the last two weeks, I made hundreds of cookies. The first baking day resulted in cookies to serve at the Christmas shopping day at the hardware store. The second day gave me platefuls to distribute to friends and colleagues. For the last two days, I’ve kept an assortment of them at the counter at work, for customers to help themselves.

Last night, dinner was chicken and stars soup. The soup is home-made; the stars are cut from noodle dough and cooked in the simmering broth. It was the traditional dinner, in years past, for the day my girls and I decorated the Christmas tree.

This year there was no family, no decorations, no tree. It was good soup, anyway. My friend Vince came over. We ate soup and bread and cookies. We drank sparkling wine and watched a movie. We talked about politics and mushrooms and books. It was a good way to spend Christmas Eve.

Today, I’ve had telephone conversations with several loved ones. I took a walk with my little dog. I’m making dinner rolls as my contribution to the Christmas meal, and cheese balls to distribute as gifts. I’ll go to my cousin Bob’s later, to have dinner with Aunt Katie and friends. I have a small cache of presents from family, friends and “Santa” that I am saving. I’ll open them when I get home tonight, maybe with a mug of hot cider.

This is not Christmas the way it lives in my memory, with bustle of family activities.

This is not the way I see Christmas in my mind, with greeting card landscape of snow-covered pines.

Still, this is Christmas, merry and bright.

My best wishes to all of you for a wonderful holiday, too!

 

 

 

 

 

About cindyricksgers

I am an artist. I live on an island in northern Lake Michigan, USA. I have two grown daughters, four strong, smart and handsome grandsons and one beautiful, intelligent and charming granddaughter. I live with two spoiled dogs. I love walking in the woods around my home, reading, writing and playing in my studio.

9 responses »

  1. Merry Christmas, Cindy! Ours sounds very much like yours – no immediate family close by, and we see each of them at different times throughout the year anyway, so no big get-togethers any more. But we still like to watch old sentimental movies, drink champagne, and take our remaining little dog for rides to see the lights. Have a wonderful new year!

  2. Merry Christmas, Cindy. Thinking of you, and other friends near and far. I’ve got my 10×10’s packed and will be driving to St Pete on Tues. Have a stellar 2016.

  3. Wow you are one serious cookie baker. And I liked reading about all that you did or didn’t do for Christmas. That is one wack-a-doodle looking collection of mushrooms on a log. Very interesting photo.

    I don’t “do” Christmas since my husband died and there is so much illness and discord in my small family. I haven’t the energy to put into it so I spend the time alone and actually enjoy not having to deal with all that Christmas entails.

      • Not wonderful but tolerable since I don’t care for Christmas and all the hoppla. I don’t “do Christmas” for quite a few years now. But I like to bake for my kiddos but had no oven this year. A new stove is supposed to be coming Tuesday. Maybe I’ll still bake and maybe not. 🙂

  4. Merry Christmas, Cindy! I’d love to taste your cookies some day – so many! Quiet Christmases are a dream of mine. Silent Night. Blessings to you for a lovely 2016.

Leave a Reply

