Yes, Well…

Standard

may 1, 2013 008

Here it is, December 1st.

Having written a blog post every day for the last thirty days, I was going to take a break.

I have plenty of other things to do!

In fact, for about the last 24 hours, I have been feeling so buried in things I have to do for my news-magazine, I couldn’t even begin. I was absolutely overwhelmed with tasks  undone, paralyzed with fear of no time, no capability, no talent…

There were articles to edit, and others to write. There were documents trapped in a newer version of Word than I have on my computer, so I couldn’t move them. There were others trapped in PDF files and photos downloaded then lost in temporary files that seem to have disappeared. My computer – or the internet service in general – has been working sluggishly all day. Me too! Everything has taken longer than it should. I am working against a deadline! I felt on the verge of a panic attack.

Luckily, I had plenty of other things to do, too. When waiting, heart-racing, for a file to open, I could calm my frayed nerves by running the compost out to the bin…or cleaning the toilet…or hauling trash and recyclables out to the car. When trying desperately to figure out how to put my notes together into a readable article, I could fold towels, mate socks or water plants. Rather than throw the computer out the window when it absolutely refused to cooperate, I could walk the dog.

When, finally, I had accomplished enough to call it a day, I could reward myself with a solid hour of studio work…and then this blog. It seems I may have accidentally formed a writing habit!

About cindyricksgers

I am an artist. I live on an island in northern Lake Michigan, USA. I have two grown daughters, four strong, smart and handsome grandsons and one beautiful, intelligent and charming granddaughter. I live with two spoiled dogs. I love walking in the woods around my home, reading, writing and playing in my studio.

4 responses »

Leave a Reply

