This Good Day

Standard

february2014 002

I didn’t sleep at all last night. Or maybe I did, but didn’t know it. It felt like my brain was always working, though I lay dutifully in bed, with eyes closed, waiting for and hoping for sleep.

Maybe my travels are catching up with me. This is more stimulation than I’m used to on a daily basis, with traffic and stores and lights and droves of people. Though my room here is quiet and comfortable, there are still sounds I’m not accustomed to. Last night I heard a train in the distance! Visits with family and friends give me lots of pleasant thoughts and good conversations, but are not a part of my usual routine on Beaver Island.

I could have been reacting to medicine I took for a sinus infection. Sometimes those over-the-counter tablets that say they “may cause drowsiness” have the opposite effect. Maybe the mug of hot apple cider that I had before bed spiked my sugar. It seemed a more sensible choice than anything with caffeine in it, and much safer than wine, with the medicine.

It could be that my list of unfinished work kept me from sleep. I certainly had time to go through every single item, while laying in bed. I’d bring up one thing, toss it around in my mind, worry over it, process several different possible solutions and put it back on the shelf, to make time for the next item. Several things that seemed like  problems without solutions at 3AM appear much more manageable in the light of day. On the other hand, many of the solutions that I worked out in my half-asleep state make no sense at all today.

With the holiday dinner coming right up, the list of things to be done is still long. Yesterday, we managed to get some things finished, ready for putting out or reheating on Thursday. Today we’re going to finish an appetizer plate, and bake pies, thaw the turkey, set up tables and plan the arrangement of platters and bowls for serving.

Everything is going to be just fine.

In the middle of a sleepless night, everything seems more troublesome.

In the middle of a sleepless night, I am frustrated by the knowledge that everything would be easier to handle if I could just get some sleep!

 

About cindyricksgers

I am an artist. I live on an island in northern Lake Michigan, USA. I have two grown daughters, four strong, smart and handsome grandsons and one beautiful, intelligent and charming granddaughter. I live with two spoiled dogs. I love walking in the woods around my home, reading, writing and playing in my studio.

7 responses »

  1. Oh, Cindy, that is so frustrating! No matter how hard we try to convince ourselves that staying awake and worrying solves nothing, our brains stubbornly refuse to listen! Everything will be more than fine–it will be wonderful. I’ve been obsessing since Saturday, but Thanksgiving is tomorrow, and I just finished typing my blog, because I know I can finish scrubbing the bathrooms and kitchen before tomorrow morning, and then all I’ll have to do is dust. And get the table ready. And…If you’re awake tonight, call me. I’ll be up.

Leave a Reply

