Waiting for Morning

Standard

sept2013 042

Exhausted from travel, multiple appointments and shopping, and sick with a sinus infection, I barely made it through Wheel of Fortune and Jeopardy last evening before collapsing into bed.

Aunt Katie stayed up for a while. I woke up a few times, noting that the television was still on, that she was still sitting on the end of her bed, that lights were still on, and that the heat in the room was still a blazing seventy-eight degrees. I’d throw off a cover, roll the other way and fall back asleep.

Until I didn’t.

Sometime in the night, I woke up, fully alert. Aunt Katie was in the next bed, breathing softly in her sleep. The bathroom light was casting a bright glow from her side of the room. Two trees, bedecked in Christmas lights, shined through the window on the other side. The room was still uncomfortably warm.

I tried rolling over…flipping the pillow to a fresh side…counting sheep…nothing worked. I was wide awake.

I could not use any of my usual remedies for sleeplessness. If I put on a light to read, it would disturb my aunt’s sleep. I couldn’t set up the computer for the same reason. I couldn’t even brew a cup of chamomile tea!

No matter how hard I tried, I could not fall back asleep.

I knew the motel employees would start putting the continental breakfast together at 5:30. It had to be close to that time. I could carefully put back on the clothes I’d worn yesterday, quietly sneak a book out of my bag, silently slide out the door and down the hall to the lobby to read until the coffee was ready…

A great plan!

I retrieved my eyeglasses…looked at the clock.

One-fifteen!!!

Ugh!

That was the beginning of a long night of waiting for morning.

A very, very long night.

I mercifully fell asleep at some point, because the alarm woke me up…but I sure didn’t feel very rested.

Waiting for morning is a terrible way to spend the night!

 

About cindyricksgers

I am an artist. I live on an island in northern Lake Michigan, USA. I have two grown daughters, four strong, smart and handsome grandsons and one beautiful, intelligent and charming granddaughter. I live with two spoiled dogs. I love walking in the woods around my home, reading, writing and playing in my studio.

5 responses »

  1. Not sleeping can make for fatigue the next day Right now I am on the computer because I awoke at 3am and could not go back to sleep. I have a “sleep problem” and usually work crossword puzzles and drink hot soy milk and then after 2-3 hours fall asleep.. Thankfully I’m retired now but I understand your frustration.

  2. Those who enjoy a good nights sleep can’t appreciate how frustrating & exhausting it is for those of us with sleep deprivation issues😝. I hope this episode was a unique one for you!😃

    • When it happens at home, I have a set routine…hot chamomile tea, a book or some paperwork for an hour or two rather than fighting it. In that motel room, it was hopeless! Thanks for your understanding comments, Marilyn, and for reading!

Leave a Reply

