Travels

Standard

november'12 003

Travel offers a new outlook, if only temporarily. Different scenery alone can change perspective. Travel companions, weather, deadlines, appointments and expectations play a role in the total experience. I wrote about my long list of things to do, to prepare to leave; I wrote about my plane ride, and my “night of little sleep.” In every trip, there are moments to remember. Here are a few:

  • Aunt Katie sat beside me on the little airplane, as the wind tossed it around. I had a firm grip on her shoulder; the other hand clutched the window frame. She calmly tried to explain the grocery list, “Bob is cooking, and he wants a Butterball. If it were up to me, I’d just get a Spartan brand turkey for half the price, but he’s doing the cooking…” I told her sorry, but I couldn’t listen right now, “It’s taking all my concentration just to keep this  plane in the air!” (Not that I was actually at the controls or anything)A big grin spread across her face.
  • Trying to use my computer from the motel room, I got to know the desk clerk very well. After giving me over-the-counter advise three times, she finally followed me down to the room to look at it in person. With her mere presence, the instructions she had given me now worked perfectly. I should have invited her back before I accidentally posted my blog a dozen times to Facebook!
  • Telling me about her health issues, as reported to her by the several doctors she saw, Aunt Katie said, “…well, I still find it interesting.” In answer to my puzzled expression, she said, “you know, watching my body fall apart at the speed of light.”
  • Traveling across the state, I pulled in to the Big Boy restaurant in Gaylord. As I got out of the car, I heard a crash. An accident had just happened a few yards up the road. If I hadn’t turned off the highway, it might have been me in the middle of that crash! The restaurant staff, all intent on watching the progress of police cars and tow trucks on the corner, forgot all about restaurant service.
  • Driving at night has never been my strong suit. Wet roads, reflecting   lights and freeway speeds add to my discomfort. Whenever I arrive at my destination intact, see the faces of people I know and get that first hug, there is reason to be thankful.

That’s all for today. Before I get back to Beaver Island, to retrieve my little dog and go back to life-as-usual, I’m sure I’ll have another adventure or two to share.

About cindyricksgers

I am an artist. I live on an island in northern Lake Michigan, USA. I have two grown daughters, four strong, smart and handsome grandsons and one beautiful, intelligent and charming granddaughter. I live with two spoiled dogs. I love walking in the woods around my home, reading, writing and playing in my studio.

Leave a Reply

