This Morning

Standard

november2015 019

Children and animals don’t understand Daylight Savings Time.

They stick to their own schedules.

My nieces and nephews with babies in the home have been noting how they missed out this year, on that extra hour of sleep.

In my household, it means my little dog starts early this time of year, asking for her dinner. It means she’s ready for sleep earlier, too. She comes to find me – at computer desk or in the studio – and cocks her head. “Still working? It’s bedtime,” her look tells me. When she gives up and walks away, I imagine a shoulder shrug, head shake and a mumbled comment about how I’ll be sorry tomorrow.

In the morning, we get up on time, no matter what the clock says.

Even if it’s my day off.

Even if it’s one of those frosty mornings when the air is cold and the blankets form a cozy cocoon and I don’t want to move.

We get up because the little dog – unaware of the time change – needs to go outside.

I turn on the coffee pot; it will be ready when I come in.

I pull my white, fleecy robe from the hook on the bathroom door, pick up the camera from the desk, grab a few pieces of kibble from the dog food bin, and slide into the shoes that wait by the kitchen door.

Out we go!

This is our routine, year ’round.

Sometimes boots and winter coat replace the shoes and bathrobe. Other days, the big umbrella is necessary. Rarely, but on a couple summer days I go out in just pajamas and bare feet.

Some days the ground is so wet with dew, it dampens my feet right through my shoes. Sometimes, a fresh snow welcomes us.

There are mornings when I’m greeted by a big moon and a sky full of stars.

This morning, frost has turned the asparagus fronds to silver. Leaves crackle under my feet. In the trees, dark branches are revealed where the leaves have fallen. They form a striking backdrop for the color that is left: yellows have turned to amber, and oranges to rust.

Over it all, this autumn sky.

This morning, like every other, I hate to get out of bed. I shudder when my feet hit the cold floor. I grumble as I maneuver my sleepy self into bathrobe and shoes. I complain to myself as I walk around the yard and garden, waiting for the little dog to finish her morning constitutional.

This morning, like every other, I am enriched by the experience in spite of myself.

6 responses »

    • Thanks, Kimberly! I’m wondering If I truly understand it. I’m still in “translation mode” where I’m thinking, “Oh yes, the clock says this…but it’s really this time…” Thanks for reading, and for your comments!

  1. Your photo is gorgeous! I’m glad you can find joy after having to do something you really don’t want to do. In about twenty-eight days I’ll be thinking of you while I linger upon my feather bed under my cozy quilt. I’ll admire you, but I won’t want to be you. 🙂

    Thanks for another wonderful post. You bring Beaver Island and your household to life for me.

    • I may be as excited about your retirement as you are! Well, probably not…but I think it’s wonderful when all your hard work pays off and you get to reap the rewards. I’m very happy for you! Thanks for reading, Sara, and for your kind comments!

    • Thank you, Linda! That was a stunning sky…the ripply clouds kind of stayed with us all day, too, though not as impressive as when the morning sun was lighting them from below. Thanks for reading, and for your comments!

Leave a Reply

