Beginning November

Standard

october2015 167

I’m pretty happy this first of November.

I think I’ve finally caught up on my rest! I slept this morning until I woke up naturally. The clock said eight but I – having not set my clock’s back for Daylight Saving’s Time before going to bed – knew it was only seven o’clock.

I was pretty smug about that!

I look forward, always, to this one extra hour in a year. It feels like it will be “The Thing” that will make up for all the short-comings in my list of obligations, my schedule and my sleep patterns. Usually, it is lost in an electrical outage, a night of staying up too late or a morning of over-sleeping. Most times, I never feel the benefits of it.

This year, I have an extra hour!

It’s a good day for it, too, as this is the first day of NaBloPoMo. That is National Blog Posting Month, which runs at the same time as National Novel Writing Month (that’s NaNoWriMo) for those of us who choose not to spend the month of November churning out a 50,000 word novel. I managed it – the blog posting, that is – last year, and I’m going to do it again this year. I was on the fence about it, with what seems like too much to do already, until my friend Sara jumped in. She is at least as busy as I am, with her demanding day job, her art and craft business, a husband and other obligations and distractions. If she can do it, I will, too! Especially since today – November 1st – I have my bonus hour to work with!

Halloween is over, without hardly a change out here on the Fox Lake Road. I did not dress up; I did not decorate; I did not put out candy; I didn’t carve pumpkins. I didn’t even dig out the rusty metal jack o’ lantern candle holders this year. In past years, I’ve gotten more into the spirit. Even long after my children were grown, I carved silly jack o’ lanterns and had big bowls of treats waiting. I put Alfred Hitchcock’s spooky stories on the stereo. One year, I lined my driveway with brown bag luminaries and braved the cold wind in my witch’s cape to keep them lit. Still no trick-or treat-ers. My house is just too remote. I don’t even prepare for them anymore. If a random costumed bunch were to surprise me, I’m afraid I’d be hard pressed to find a child-friendly treat to offer them. If things ever change, it would be wise to call first!

Today, I’ll be going to work again. I work at the hardware store on Sunday, but it’s a short day. I just finished a big cleaning and reorganizing project there; today will be simply finishing our order, putting in the “shortages and damaged-goods” claims and taking care of customers.

Later, I have a report to write regarding this year’s treatment of invasive Phragmites. Once I send that paperwork off to all of the agencies and associations waiting for it, I’ll be ready to turn in my books and be done with that job.

I have a folder where I’ve been collecting stories for the next issue of the Beacon. If I have time and inclination, there’s plenty to do there. In the next couple days, I have a few interviews to do, some phone calls to return and a meeting  or two. Always, there is plenty of bookkeeping to do for that paper!

I haven’t touched on my own stuff: the leaves to be raked, the windows to be washed, the floors to be cleaned…and the studio, with it’s own long list of pleasurable and inspiring demands.

This morning, with a cup of coffee beside me, a new page on the calendar (this one states, “There is no trouble so great or grave that cannot be much diminished by a nice cup of tea.”), a new month before me, one day of my new writing commitment almost finished…and an entire free extra hour of time, I have every confidence that my life will all fall into place.

About cindyricksgers

I am an artist. I live on an island in northern Lake Michigan, USA. I have two grown daughters, four strong, smart and handsome grandsons and one beautiful, intelligent and charming granddaughter. I live with two spoiled dogs. I love walking in the woods around my home, reading, writing and playing in my studio.

10 responses »

  1. You’re so right. That extra hour is pure delight. How strange what one hour does for mind and body. As always you have more on your plate than most humans that I know. I have no idea how you swing all those duties and chores. I always enjoy reading your adventures. Love the photo of the yellow leaves against the barren leaves. It looks cold.

    • We have had some cold fall days, Yvonne, and lots of cold wind and rain. We finally got that killing frost, which sometimes brings on nice “Indian Summer.” I’m hoping for a few glorious warm days before winter sets in! Thank you for reading, and for your comments!

  2. Oh Cindy! I’d hardly say I’m as busy as you are, but I’m glad you’re on board with NaBloPoMo. I’ve never attempted it before, so you can be my cheerleader. One piece of Halloween advice though – ALWAYS have a bag of chocolate bars handy in the event that you may get some trick-or-treaters. Even if you know they won’t come, what could it hurt to have them for yourself? I find having a bit a chocolate while I write is a very, very good thing. Good luck this month – I’ll be reading!

    • You’re right…I should’ve had the chocolate. What was I thinking?! Yes, I’m feeling good about this challenge. Did you register at BlogHer.com? I did, and it has brought a few new readers to my site. Plus, they have a really cool badge you can take for your page, though I can’t figure out how to move it. Thanks for reading, Sara, and for your comments!

Leave a Reply

