My Sweet Girl

Standard

madeline 005

Today, my granddaughter, Madeline, is fifteen years old!

I don’t know where the years have gone.

I remember, clearly, her mother at fifteen.

Hey, I remember being fifteen myself!

They say we are always the same age, inside.

I think that holds true for the ones we love, too.

I am always about thirty-five years old.

Oddly, so is my mother!

My daughters, in my deepest heart-held memories, are in the three-year-old to ten-year-old range…though they surprise me constantly with their capable maturity.

My grandsons are suspended in my memory, too, in that time when mischievous smiles and silly giggles could give way at any moment to big hugs and snuggles.

Madeline, sweet girl, is always exuberant, chatty, and wildly in love with life…and animals.

Happy Birthday, Madeline!

madeline's pictures 088

About cindyricksgers

I am an artist. I live on an island in northern Lake Michigan, USA. I have two grown daughters, four strong, smart and handsome grandsons and one beautiful, intelligent and charming granddaughter. I live with two spoiled dogs. I love walking in the woods around my home, reading, writing and playing in my studio.

9 responses »

  1. What a beautiful girl. I know what you mean about age-in-the-head: I still feel around 35 too and my nephews, who actually are now around 35, are still aged 6 and 8 in my mind’s eye!

    • She’s a peach, alright: looks and personality and kindness. I’m glad I’m not the only one to be frozen in time. In many ways I’ve learned and grown a lot since I was 35…but, still. Thanks for reading, Linda, and for your comments!

  2. Oh she is just lovely! What a sweet and curious face!
    I love what you wrote about always feeling the same age inside and viewing others as a certain age in our minds. My oldest son will forever be a young teen skateboarder…so much so, that every time i hear the gravelly sound of another kid’s board coming down the street my mind tricks me into thinking “TC is back.” Terrible bittersweetness really when I snap back to the here and now!
    Anyway…wonderful birthday post..I’m enjoying catching up with your blog!

    • She’s a doll, alright! Yes, there is sadness in the memories, just that we can’t bring back those sweet times. Thanks for reading, Karen, and thanks for sticking with me through this long period of neglect…I feel like I haven’t taken time to comment on other blogs or do much more than hit the “like” button in ages, but I so enjoy your posts and many others…just busy!

Leave a Reply

