Good Morning!

Standard

november2014 104

Yesterday, I didn’t have to work at the hardware store.

I had a long list of things to do, anyway.

As usual, I accomplished only a fraction of what I hoped to.

By evening, faced with too much to do and too few hours to do it, I was working up to a big panic attack: stomach cramps, jitters, a big sense of failure, a black cloud of depression, the urge to run…the desire to hide…

I have been there before.

I took a deep breath…turned off the computer…made a simple dinner…read a little in a book that had nothing at all to do with any of the tasks looming over me…and went to bed.

It was the best thing I could do for myself.

Still, projects don’t take care of themselves.

I woke up this morning thinking of everything I’d left undone.

Two long days at the hardware store, the holiday with family then back to work through the weekend…when would I find the time? The energy?

As I made my way through the house in the dark, turning on lights and heaters, brewing coffee and getting ready for the day, these thoughts were looming. I felt stressed before I was even fully awake. I felt the pressure of responsibilities before the sun was up.

But then, as the sun came up, I saw what had happened as I slept.

New snow!

Lots of it!

The plow trucks have not yet made their way down the Fox Lake Road.

There is a deep drift of snow that my car won’t make it through.

I’ll have to wait.

All of a sudden, I have time on my hands!

Snow day!

november2014 106

13 responses »

  1. Love when the universe works in our favor! This is a tough week i think in general. Since Saturday, I had a terrible sense of dread over getting things done and I was sinking into a really foul mood over it. Then today, out of the blue, a really good friend needed my help with something and it snapped me out of the funk. After doing something good for someone else i felt energized to blitz through what had seemed impossible. So long story short, trust in the universe or God or whatever and things usually work out!

    • You know, Karen, you’re right, it seems things do work out despite our best efforts to the contrary! When I get in one of those “behind in everything” moods, it takes a major shake-up to get me out of the “deer in the headlights” stance. Once moving, it’s easier to keep moving. Thanks for reading, and for your comments!

Leave a Reply

