A Gray Day

Standard

old photos, gardens 006

Yesterday, I heard that one of our small airlines had already cancelled all flights for today, in anticipation of this weather. Warmer temperatures have enveloped us in a gray, foggy mist.

The snow is melting, revealing the multitude of chores I left undone outside.

There’s a drizzle coming down, causing me to want to delay the long walk I told the dogs they’d get today.

The house is damp and chilly. I am not yet ready to get out of my robe and onto the many tasks waiting for me here.

old photos, gardens 005

This is my day off.

So far, I have moved from the bed to the desk chair, brewed coffee and poured myself a cup.

I read Phyllis’s Beaver Island weather report.

I read several blogs that I enjoy, and haven’t had time for until now.

I read my mail.

I finally responded to comments left on my blog, some left more than a week ago.

I caught up all my turns on the word game that I play.

Now, I’m writing my own blog, the twenty-third day in a row.

When I finish here, I have a list of book recommendations I want to look into.

I have a couple letters to write.

I may make a list of things I’d like to accomplish today.

For now, I think I’ll pour another cup.

The coffee is hot; this chair is comfortable.

Gray days can be beautiful, too.

old photos, gardens 004

About cindyricksgers

I am an artist. I live on an island in northern Lake Michigan, USA. I have two grown daughters, four strong, smart and handsome grandsons and one beautiful, intelligent and charming granddaughter. I live with two spoiled dogs. I love walking in the woods around my home, reading, writing and playing in my studio.

8 responses »

  1. I love gray days! The weather here was quite foggy yesterday and it was one of the most cozy I’ve had in a while. A good day for hot drinks and reading blog posts or books!

  2. If I have lots of indoor stuff to do I LOVE when it’s overcast and cloudy. Today was one of those days here and it made cooking ahead for tomorrow so much more fun.
    Ok I am on to your next post. catching up tonight!

Leave a Reply

